We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eat by Pescados China St. - CLOSED

Eat by Pescados China St.
626 China Street, Richmond, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had GREAT serivice and the food was GREAT. It had just the right amount of spice. We enjoyed everything there. We can't wait to go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    0
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Happy, big Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Fresh, seasonal, novel creations in a bright and cheery atmosphere. Very comfortable and relaxing. Food so good, you can't wait to go back. Yum, yum, yum!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Such an interesting menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I went here because we'd heard good things about the food. We were not disappointed! We had the lemongrass scallops and the seafood crepe. Both were absolutely delicious, and paired with unexpected and innovative sides. Check out the online menu, and you'll see what I mean.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing! Foodie paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I absolutely loved Eat! The menu is super creative, and that applies to the drinks, appetizers, main courses, and desserts.The location and atmosphere/decor inside are all pluses, though the food is the real stand-out.

They have a great selection of local beers on tap that I had never seen before, so I had one of those first. We also tried the red and the white seasonal sangria, both of which were excellent.

For an appetizer we split the ginger plum bbq duck lettuce wraps (so good!), and we will have to be back for the famously spicy and delicious voodoo shrimp. My first choice for entree was the fish of the day special, but unfortunately they had just run out (you need to get those while they last!), so I ordered the lemongrass scallops instead. These were the most delicious scallops I have had in a long time, and they were perfectly accompanied with the bacon sauteed kale and sweet potato puree. To finish the meal, we split one of the 3 dessert specials, the mango cake topped with mango slices and lime drizzle, which was, just like everything else, amazing.

Eat is a must-try experience, and I can't wait to go back!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Finger Lickin' Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We arrived kind of late after going to the movies, but the staff made us feel welcome and we never felt rushed. Which was great because the first hurdle is deciding what to order -- everything on the menu sounds amazing and then there are a few specials! And some wonderful sounding drinks, too, but we settled on a glass of red sangria (made with red wine, tart cherry juice, clementines,and lime) and one of the local beers. For an appetizer we shared the roasted duck lettuce wraps with pineapple sauce. A little messy, but no need for more napkins because we licked every drop off our fingers! Next we had the EAT salad ( a large plate of beautiful fresh greens, strawberries, oranges, goat cheese) topped with grilled wild caught shrimp. And the lemongrass scallops with pureed sweet potatoes and bacon kale. Both dishes were outstanding! For dessert we shared the mango cake -- a not too sweet dense cake topped with fresh mango slices and a creamy lime sauce. Again, we licked our fingers clean! We can't wait to go back for brunch, but next time we will take a few more people with us, who we hope will share, so we won't be limited to having to choose only two entrees and one dessert!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat by Pescados China St. also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eat by Pescados China St., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.