We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Attraction” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Cemetery

Hollywood Cemetery
412 S Cherry at Albemarle St, Richmond, VA
804 648 8501
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 158 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Glen Allen, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cool Attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have been there a few times and never get to see the whole thing. Its really big! every time I go there I discover something new. All sorts of history, myths, and tall tales of the past. if you happen to be in Richmond and are wondering what to do, you should diffidently check it out. I think there are two presidents barred there. you can walk or bike around. if you do happen to go, have some time on your hands... this is not a 1-2 hour thing.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    142
    17
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“WORTH SEEING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hillside burial place of Jeff Davis, James Monroe, John Tyler, and many other notable Virginians, overlooking Richmond. The collection of graves, tombs, and monuments is fascinating to see.
It is just a few blocks from the American Civil War Center, and worth driving through.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Richmond Attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I can honestly say I never thought I'd visit a cemetery (or will again in the future), but like everything else on the East Coast there is history everywhere. The place is tucked away in a neighborhood and as you enter it's like going back in time with a whole section set aside for civil war burial grounds. Confederate Flags don the gravesites throughout the area as Richmond was the Capital of the Confederacy. In addition two US President's are buried at the site.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Scenic park...with dead people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This cemetary was designed back in the days when it served a dual purpose...as a cemetary and as a place families would visit on Sundays to enjoy a peaceful country space and enjoy picnics. It still is beautiful, but it is a cemetary not a place I'd go for a picnic as they did in by gone days. Very hilly...but a good walk. Two US Presidents and one Confederate president are buried here. Guess which one is most decoated? When you walk around one of the US President's graves you realize you are actually walking on his wife's grave. Guess no one thought about that when planning her grave placement! There is a section of the cemetary devoted to Confederate soliders. Some of these men dyed at Gettysburg and were transported here (with the help of a Philadelphia doctor) at the behest of the local women's society.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Top Contributor
531 reviews 531 reviews
290 attraction reviews
Reviews in 186 cities Reviews in 186 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“Unlike any cemetery we have visited!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Such a beautiful cemetery with lots of trees, flowers, schrubs, etc. The city of Richmond should be very proud. The upkeep is really great -- well manicured and green, green, green!
It rained the day we were there otherwise we would have taken the guided tour. However we purchased a map for $1.00 which was an excellent guide for viewing the 3 U.S. Presidents, Davis, Monroe & Tyler & many important figures of history.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Hollywood Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.