We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HUGE and impressive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monument Avenue

Monument Avenue
Monument Avenue from Lombardy Street to North Thompson Street, Richmond, VA 23220,23221
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 158 things to do in Richmond
Attraction details
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“HUGE and impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

probably best to drive this street - if you were to walk it, would take awhile. Million dollars homes line this boulevard, and the street has every 2 blocks huge statutes of RE Lee, and other hero's. Easy to park and take pictures.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    111
    18
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Western New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't go after sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We drove down Monument Ave. after sunset on 8/17. You really need to do this drive in the daytime. Statues are not well-lit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A memorial to the President of the Confederate States of America”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I actually was trying to find a restaurant on Main Street. I got off a bus at Broad Street so I walked south on Monument Street for about a mile. Along the way a saw the memorial. It honors Jefferson Davis, the President of the Confederate States of America from 1861 to 1865. Richmond was the capital of the Confederacy. Since I am from northern states, I was surprised to see this recognition of a man who championed the separation of the Confederacy from the Union. I am beginning to recognize the pride of denizens of Richmond for the actions of their ancestors. I would like to learn more about the history of Richmond and the rest of Virginia.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“If youlike mansions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

You will love Monument. I do wish they would allow more progressive statues and get away from the confederacy only statues. Still a great thorough fare with many great events throughout the year.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“At least drive by it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I didn't get out to look at the monuments but just driving by them is pretty cool. Not only are the monuments pretty awesome but the houses on the street are really interesting as well

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monument Avenue also viewed

 

Been to Monument Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monument Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.