We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! you probably need a few days to see everything...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virginia Museum of Fine Arts

Virginia Museum of Fine Arts
2800 Grove Ave, Richmond, VA 23221-2466
804 340 1400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 158 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Lexington Park, Maryland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“WOW! you probably need a few days to see everything...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We didn't pay to do the Hollywood exhibits but just walked around what we could with the time we had. There was so much to see from so many places around the world. I've only been to a handful of museums and this was definitely my favorite. It had rooms designated to art that only had to do with hunting dogs and steeple chases...very interesting. Can't wait to see the rest of it.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    897
    152
    12
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

It was breathtaking. Our hotel suggested that we visit during our down time. It was an afternoon well-spent!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

we went to see the Hollywood Costumes exhibit only to realize the Made in Hollywood exhibit that was showing was photographs. Oh well, we missed the costumes. But the museum is lovely, has wonderful collection of art from all over the world and throughout the ages. I highly recommend, it's a lovely setting, totally enjoyable day.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“impressive museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Were very impressed with the museum's collection! And that it was free! We would definitely recommend it to anyone- there is someone there for everyone.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
485 reviews 485 reviews
140 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
392 helpful votes 392 helpful votes
“Its a must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I love this museum, its just the right size ,the design concept is very open and inviting, friendly staff a ,coat check a,great gift shop. and its Free unless there is a special exhibit. The museum also offers a nice café with daily fresh sandwiches ,great coffee and wine, There are also specails events such as Thursday evening jazz 6-9pm.
Just came back from seeing "the Hollywood costume" exhibit which was awesome. My husband was not thrilled about seeing what he thought would be just loads of Hollywood gowns( which by the way were gorgeous) but was thrilled and got quite nostalgic about seeing not only the gowns but reminders of his childhood by seeing the costume worn by "Ming the merciless" from the "flash Gordon series" We along with many others were taking notes of all the movies we had missed as we read about them.This exibit ends soon. so.see it if you can!
Earlier in the year the museum featured the handblown master pieces of Chihuly....that was also fantastic....great Museum makes you proud to live here:-) Parking is free if you are a member otherwise its $5.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Museum of Fine Arts also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Museum of Fine Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.