We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virginia Museum of Fine Arts

Virginia Museum of Fine Arts
2800 Grove Ave, Richmond, VA 23221-2466
804 340 1400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 104 Attractions in Richmond
Type: Art Museums
Attraction Details
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“First Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Being from New York my expectations for VMFA were low, but after the renovation I was privvy to a tour and what a beautiful museum this is. You can take a guided tour or go on your own, but you will not be disappointed. The eateries are top notch, and the special exhibits are not to be missed. Put on your walking shoes, and enjoy!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    678
    112
    11
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“The greatest gallery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

You will not be disappointed Richmond is so very lucky to have such a fantastic gallery . Much loved by the locals and supported . Like a New York gallery in the south . A gem to visit and return to again and again . Love the gift store so many great gifts enjoy !

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous and Free!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We are vacationing in Williamsburg with teenagers and decided to make the (short) trek up to Richmond to see the VMFA. This is a phenomenal, beautiful museum with lots to offer including a delicious cafe overlooking the reflective pond. There are many interesting exhibits and "guards" in every room. On of these "guards" named Bob also happened to be extremely knowledgeable about all of the art and who it came from. I kept searching for Bob and he provided me with a wealth of information. Even 4 cranky teens loved the museum and found plenty to interest them. I highly recommend this museum. You will NOT be disappointed!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I had been to the Museum several times, but the Chihuly exhibit truly was the best I've seen in years. Worth every penny. I also liked the fact the gift shop features local artists along with the usual things you find in an art museum gift shop.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Faberge to French impressionists and American decorative arts to art from the Classic Age, this museum has it all. And free admission? It seems to good to be true. Definitely worth a visit if you are in Richmond, and now that we've been there, we would even travel to go back. Plan to spend at least half a day, but you could spend even more time. The sculpture garden is also lovely.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Museum of Fine Arts also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Museum of Fine Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.