We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous and Free!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virginia Museum of Fine Arts

Virginia Museum of Fine Arts
2800 Grove Ave, Richmond, VA 23221-2466
804 340 1400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 163 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Devon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous and Free!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We are vacationing in Williamsburg with teenagers and decided to make the (short) trek up to Richmond to see the VMFA. This is a phenomenal, beautiful museum with lots to offer including a delicious cafe overlooking the reflective pond. There are many interesting exhibits and "guards" in every room. On of these "guards" named Bob also happened to be extremely knowledgeable about all of the art and who it came from. I kept searching for Bob and he provided me with a wealth of information. Even 4 cranky teens loved the museum and found plenty to interest them. I highly recommend this museum. You will NOT be disappointed!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,007
    160
    12
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I had been to the Museum several times, but the Chihuly exhibit truly was the best I've seen in years. Worth every penny. I also liked the fact the gift shop features local artists along with the usual things you find in an art museum gift shop.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Faberge to French impressionists and American decorative arts to art from the Classic Age, this museum has it all. And free admission? It seems to good to be true. Definitely worth a visit if you are in Richmond, and now that we've been there, we would even travel to go back. Plan to spend at least half a day, but you could spend even more time. The sculpture garden is also lovely.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow! Wonderful renovation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was a venue for out of state colleagues that attended a conference. They were greatly impressed. It was my second visit since the renovation and it was even better than the first.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“..."bar scene" at a museum???”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This place has EVERYTHING ...where do you go for great good (Amuse)...hear talk on Asian Art....than stop for a glass of wine and listen to some good jazz. And the price of admission is reasonable ...0.ok you have to pay for dinner ...the presentation ...and your wine. Value wise this is a no brainer for those visiting Richmond.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Museum of Fine Arts also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Museum of Fine Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.