We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cultural Highlight of our trip to Richmond” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virginia Museum of Fine Arts

Virginia Museum of Fine Arts
2800 Grove Ave, Richmond, VA 23221-2466
804 340 1400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 104 Attractions in Richmond
Type: Art Museums
Attraction Details
Parkton, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cultural Highlight of our trip to Richmond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Richmond is steeped in history, and there are lots of wonderful places to go if you want to delve into the Civil War, but for my money the cultural jewel in Richmond's crown is the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts. We attracted to the VMFA by an announcement on the Chihuly Exhibit (the exhibit, runs thru Feb 10, 2013), but once we got there we found so much more to explore. Their permanent collections of American Art, Art Deco and Art Nouveau decorative arts and Arts and Crafts furniture had us charmed. We'll be back the next time we are in town to visit the other galleries.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    678
    112
    11
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A must see.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

A world class museum right here in Richmond. Closed for well over a year for renovation and new additions. You will love this place. A must see for Richmond sightseeing. Very good restaurant in house as well.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My first visit yesterday was prompted by VMFA's current display of beautiful glass works of Chiluly. Upon finishing that, I visited most of the more permanent exhibits, including works in many media, diverse parts of the world, and ranging from ancient Egyptian times to the present. A very nice way to spend the day.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I was not prepared for how large the building was on my walk to the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts. There is a great amount of things to see inside. My favorite part of the day was sitting on the patio and having a drink. The prices (to my surprise) were reasonable and the workers were pleasant while having a sense of humor. It was a relaxing day and I would love to return to see the things that I did not have time to look at. I would like to go during the times that the education center is open.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Good small art museum. Decorative Arts are the main attraction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is a lovely little art museum which would like to be a big art museum. While the Decorative Arts collection is lovely, the rest of the collections tend to be just a smattering of this and that. It's a bit of a tasting menu of art which is actually just fine for a lovely afternoon.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Museum of Fine Arts also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Museum of Fine Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.