We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virginia Museum of Fine Arts

Virginia Museum of Fine Arts
2800 Grove Ave, Richmond, VA 23221-2466
804 340 1400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 107 Attractions in Richmond
Type: Art Museums
Attraction Details
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I was not prepared for how large the building was on my walk to the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts. There is a great amount of things to see inside. My favorite part of the day was sitting on the patio and having a drink. The prices (to my surprise) were reasonable and the workers were pleasant while having a sense of humor. It was a relaxing day and I would love to return to see the things that I did not have time to look at. I would like to go during the times that the education center is open.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    697
    118
    11
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Good small art museum. Decorative Arts are the main attraction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is a lovely little art museum which would like to be a big art museum. While the Decorative Arts collection is lovely, the rest of the collections tend to be just a smattering of this and that. It's a bit of a tasting menu of art which is actually just fine for a lovely afternoon.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Must-see Chihuly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The new VMFA is a treasure of Richmond. The grounds are beautiful any time of year, and the building has many architectural highlights. But of course the reason to visit a museum is the exhibits within. I've been to several in the last couple years, and the latest is one of the best: several rooms of glass by Dale Chihuly. Hard to pick a favorite because I liked almost all the rooms, so just go and enjoy. Well worth checking their website a few times a year and planning a vacation around one of their special attractions. You won't be disappointed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“This was a great stop for lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Dont feel the need to stop at the closest McD's - take the family to this cute little place to see the important cultural sites AND EAT! I found the pricing family friendly and certainly the latest exhibit to be eye opening! Go - you wont regret it!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Drove down from D.C. to see the Chihuly exhibi. Amazaed by the wealth of other collections, especially the Art Nouveau furniture. Unfortunately the Faberge eggs, etc. are on a 2 year tour,.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Museum of Fine Arts also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Museum of Fine Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.