We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great short track racing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond International Raceway

Richmond International Raceway
600 East Laburnum Ave, Richmond, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 83 Attractions in Richmond
Type: Race Car Tracks, Theaters & Stadiums
Attraction details
Midland Park, NJ
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great short track racing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

RIR is a great short track, the action is always exciting. Both races are night races which makes for more excitement. The fall race is the cutoff to make the chase in NASCAR so that race is very exciting because 12 drivers are trying to make the chase. The staff at Richmond is great. There is a lot to do for the fans during the day before the races. They always have a lot of driver appearances so there's a good chance you can see your favorite driver up close. Get there early to avoid the traffic plus there's a lot to do. Seating is great you can see the whole track since its a small track. If you are a Nascar fan put this track on your bucket list!!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    30
    9
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Poquoson, Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lots of action at this track”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I always enjoy going to an RIC race, always lots to do & see in the parking lot, not a bad seat at the track, if you get lucky & can check out the suites you wont be disappointed..

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“RVA and NASCAR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I didnt grow up being a fan but I now really enjoy Nascar. I've been to a few other tracks around the country. Richmond is one of my favorites. If visiting from out of town be very careful when venturing off of the RIR grounds its very dangerous. I would get a taxi or have a friend drive.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Decent facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

They had their stuff together this year for the race. Security was in place. Plenty of vendors to choose from. Enjoyed it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
1 review
“Nascar race!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

A great night race! Very easy to find seats--we were in Sprint section. Had a great view of track & pit area. The pre-race ceremonies were very emotional tributes to our armed forces. One problem going in--we had a soft side cooler with a hard plastic insert--the security woman we had would not let us take it in---we had to throw the hard plastic insert out. Facilities were clean for this type of event. Crowd was pleasant. After race, it was an orderly exit from the race grounds. Only other problem we encountered was with the traffic routes. The police did not allow left or right turns from the main road for what seemed like miles. This makes following a GPS back to your hotel a little crazy.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Richmond International Raceway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond International Raceway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.