We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Me and the Horrible, No Good, Very Bad "Hotel"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6531 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23230 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Richmond West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Me and the Horrible, No Good, Very Bad "Hotel"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The first thing to note is that last year the Virginia Attorney General filed a lawsuit against this hotel for committing fraud, deception, and misrepresentation. The hotel was accused of violating Virginia's bait-and-switch law by charging customers more than they were told their rooms would cost. Also, about a month before we were there, 2 people were shot in the lobby of the hotel. If you want more detail about that, just do a Google search for the name of the hotel and search the news tab. If I had known these two pieces of info, I would have pushed for us to get a different hotel.
With that said, let me describe our experience.
1. When we first got to the hotel, the 20 people in our group were the only occupants of this hotel. Yes, you read that right. We're talking about a 7-story Motel 6 with maybe 50 rooms on each floor. The conference rooms we were using were not heated on one of the coldest nights Richmond has had in a while. The staff provided heat lamps for our use (or to mock us for staying at this hotel).
2. About half of the lights in the hallways do not work.
3. Do not even think about taking the elevators. When they work (which is rarely), the doors buffet as the elevator moves. One of the elevators also started moving with the doors open. The elevators do not have the Virginia certificate in them, and I would not be at all surprised if that is because the elevators have never been inspected.
4. Six of us stayed in two adjoining rooms, and other people in our group were in different rooms on the same floor. Room 414 had a heater that worked, but the temperature could not be adjusted, so 414 was around 80 degrees. Room 412's heater did not work, so that room was about 50 degrees. By opening the doors between the rooms we were able to get a relative balance of temperature. However, 412's shower did not work, and about half of 414's lights did not work (in many cases, because there were no lightbulbs in the lamps). Oh, and 412's toilet did not work. Yes, THE TOILET AND SHOWER DID NOT WORK. Further, 412's sink had no hot water. So, only 414 actually had a bathroom.
5. Contrary to what the hotel may claim, there is no maid service. How did we obtain towels and soap for our room? I found a cart that, in a normal hotel, would be brought around by staff to clean the hotel rooms, and I acquired towels, soap, and toilet paper from it.
6. The claims that the hotel makes about having a pool and hot tub are materially false. The pool is drained, and according to some of my colleagues who stayed at this hotel before, it has been "undergoing maintenance" for over a year. Of course, that didn't stop the owners of this hotel from publishing flyers (which they gave to us) advertising their "Valentine's Day Special" which discussed in detail the pool and hot tub that they have.
7. When walking down the fourth floor hallway, you'll have to walk over a large, circular, red stain on the carpet, which has several smaller red stains leading to it. You don't have to be a forensic scientist to know that the two people shot in January are not the only people who have been shot in this hotel.
8. On our second day, many very sketchy individuals checked in -- although I honestly do not know if they actually checked in. The fact that we saw one scantily clad female (in below-freezing weather) go into a room, and also saw males go into (and then leave) said room one after another suggests otherwise to me. That night, our hallway reeked of burning marijuana, and many people were in the hallway loudly shouting at 2:30 in the morning. We called the front desk and nothing was done -- which is fitting, considering that the front desk never did anything for us at any point during our stay.
9. The fitness room should not be described as such. It is safe to assume that it has not been used in a very, very long time, by the amount of dust that has collected on all the equipment.
10. The vending machines and ice machines do not work. The hotel staff has obviously given up on them, since I found not a single one that was plugged in.
11. Some areas of the hotel were absolutely filthy and appeared that they had not been cleaned since the pool was closed, which we already established earlier was a long time ago.
12. Some of the vents in the bathrooms are not, in fact, fans. Instead, they are simply pipes that come out of the walls. Many things like this lead me to believe that this hotel is not up to code.
13. Don't believe any of the photos the hotel has on its website. The real hotel looks nothing like those pictures.

If you should feel the need to experience this hotel for yourself, allow me to provide you with a packing list: bulletproof vest, space heater, blankets, lightbulbs, towels, soap, and enough common sense to go someplace else instead.

Room Tip: If you must go here, ask for a room away from the drug users and possible prostitutes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    36
    39
    54
    62
See reviews for
56
30
17
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

Dirty, disgusting. No place for a family to stay. Don't know how this place is legal. Mold everywhere is hallways. Strange people walking around. Beware, very creepy. We did not feel safe at all and left after we checked in and went upstairs and saw the conditions of the rooms and people walking around the hallways.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Came to stay during marathon. Although I did well at the marathon, this was the nightmare. Problems: hot tub was out of order. Mildew in the shower. Had to beg the staff to bring you breakfast. I think many of the patrons at breakfast were off of the street. No towels in the dark pool area and got strange looks when I asked for some. One of the elevators was out of order and was on the left. Management had a sign on that elevator that said to use the elevator on the left (a wall was to the left). That sign was there for a while. I saw beer cans sitting in various places. The pool was very dirty (around and within)- not barely but very. I would stay here if you don't mind those sort of things. I wasn't expecting Marriott but I also was expecting 3 stars. This was more like a 2 star hotel. Good luck!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

The only saving grace of the stay was that the woman at the front desk was courteous and accommodating. Most everything else was a bit of a horror show. There are out of order signs everywhere - one of the elevators, and nearly every vending machine and ice machine. The elevator that did work had dusty hand prints all over it, and looked like it was in need of repairs.

The first room had a moldy shower with peeling paint.

The second room had no hangers in the closet, a chipped bathtub, and a loud dog barking across the hall. The phone in the rooms cannot call the front desk -- it rings busy. So back to the front desk I go.

The third and final room was cleaner than the first 2, but the heater was loud and smelly. Luckily although the room was chilly, but manageable without heat.

I would recommend staying away!

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Very outdated, elevator out of order. Lights were not on in the lobby or pool area after dusk. Room was a decent size, but obviously had not been swept well. Beds were ok, linens were clean, but shower curtain had mildew at the bottom, and there was no ice bucket in the room. No TV remote and when we asked for one we were told to come down to get it, and then it did not work either! There were people running up and down the halls all night, yelling and talking loudly. We got minimal sleep. I understand there was a party booked there, however the hotel asked if we were part of the party, and I would have thought they would have placed us on a different floor. The hotel could not have been even half full.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

The place was clean and fresh looking and the staff were very helpful and happy,.Its more that worth the money..Everything in room was working and bathroom was spotless.I found free Sunday Vegetarian feast in the afternoon. That was additional bonus for me.Overall my stay was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We were looking for a weeken get away vacation and booked room in this hotel. What a beautiful experience we had !!!!
Did not know that there was a program hosted by ISKCON every Sunday that was a bonus for our stay. Heard some nice music (Kirtan) and free food. Can't beat the taste of nice vegetarian food.
The hotel service and people are exceptional.
Highly recommended if you are looking for a good relaxing time or even if you are on a business trip and need a good sleep.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel

Address: 6531 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23230 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Richmond West)
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 100 percent smoke free Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel is 8 miles northwest of downtown Richmond, and less than 4 miles from the University of Richmond, Henrico Doctors' Hospital, Phillip Morris- Altria, INC, Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens, and the Belmont Golf Course. Guests of the Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel can enjoy an indoor pool, jacuzzi, on-site fitness room, and a complimentary continental breakfast. All guest rooms include free wireless internet, coffeemaker, hair dryer, free local calls, alarm clock/radio, iron and board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Richmond
Richmond Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.