We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6531 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23230 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Richmond West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
College Park, Maryland
1 review
“Stay Away!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is absolutely, by far, the worst hotel I have stayed in. The management, for number one, are rude and very unprofessional. The female day manager does not care about her guests, let alone, anything they have to say. They overcharged and double charged for my room, the didn't tell me maintenance/renovations were going to be taking place that morning and I was awoken at 8:30AM by loud hammering which went on for hours. The room was stuffy and filthy. It seemed like the air filter hadn't been changed possibly EVER. The carpets had stains and the bottom of my socks were stained black by the time I left. I would not recommend ANYONE to go here. PLEASE for your own benefit stay away and advise anyone you know to stay away as well.

Room Tip: DON'T STAY HERE and definitely don't deal the rude, unprofessional management!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    36
    39
    52
    57
See reviews for
53
29
18
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

PROS: free WiFi, Free parking, soft beds, clean, accommodated my 2 full bed request, late check-in (midnight) was not a problem

CONS: AC unit old & was not very cold, carpets stained throughout the room & building, no tissues in room, pool only open 5PM -10PM Sun-Fri (but 10-10 on Sat), no working ice maker found & no bag to put ice in if you found one & no bag for dirty clothes, toilet flushed extremely loud (don't use it at night unless you want to wake everyone up), tub slow to drain

Free Breakfast consisted of: self serve waffle maker (they all stuck to the pan-no spray), oatmeal, cereal, yogurt, toast/bagel/mini donuts, apple, coffee, orange juice & skim milk-very disappointing.

For $100, I guess I expected a little bit more. I was looking for a lesser expensive but decent place. I had a soft bed, a place to shower, free parking & Wifi, and I didn't feel skeeved out. But, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent hotel! Nice and clean, rooms was beautiful and modern. Also very comfortable and clean. I love this hotel. Wonderful swimming pool, nice elevators, ample of parking space and easy access for walking. Perfect.. Highly recommend if you are planning a family or business visit.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stayed here 1 night only, could not put up with 3rd floor and long walk to the icemaker (1 for hotel on 3rd floor), microwave (1 for hotel on ground floor) and 1 working elevator which was over 200 feet from our room. The guy on front desk asked "what do you expect from a hotel built in the 60's" I replied that for over 200 rooms I would expect the other 3 elevators to work properly, and the 2 vending machines and 1 ice machines on our fllor that were unplugged/in need of service, to be maintained. After this he checked in a couple and gave them magnetic key to room beside ours already occupied by a sleeping family, I don't know who was more surprised, the new guest or the sleeping children who woke to their mothers scream when someone entered their room at 9.30pm.

There is an indoor pool, the water was rather cold, the spa was like a swamp, cold, green and the smell was awful, would stay away from the spa.

Breakfast was hot water, tea bags, an EMPTY coffee jug (no one around to refill), bread, muffins, a toaster, grape jelly and cheese spread, NO BUTTER, forget breakfast, it is not worth the trek if you are over the convention centre part of the hotel.

If you just need to crash in a comfortable bed, this is a good hotel easy accessable from the freeway and not far from downtown, if you plan to come and go, have breakfast or go for a swim FORGET IT

Room Tip: near a working elevator and ice machine as there are no refrigerators in rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Loved this hotel! The price was really worth! Everything clean, the bathroom is spacy, clean and modern. The room very comfortable and clean. There is a very good restaurant, and location is great if you are visiting the city. Many restaurants and shops nearby. I have repeated my say here, I love this hotel. Ample parking space and easy access for walking. Perfect.. Couldnt ask for more ;)

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

It is a great Place. Right close to everything that you need to make your stay good. Lots of restaurants and other shopping places are really close. The hospitality is at the best at this hotel. I felt like I never left my house. The place is very clean and lots of parking space.
If you are in Richmond this place is my recommendation!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Great location, close to everything, and the hotel was just perfect! Service was superb, and our room was fantastic. Large, CLEAN, well appointed, just really really nice!...I would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Rooms are very clean Hotel environment has got plenty of parking slots very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel

Address: 6531 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23230 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Richmond West)
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 100 percent smoke free Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel is 8 miles northwest of downtown Richmond, and less than 4 miles from the University of Richmond, Henrico Doctors' Hospital, Phillip Morris- Altria, INC, Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens, and the Belmont Golf Course. Guests of the Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel can enjoy an indoor pool, jacuzzi, on-site fitness room, and a complimentary continental breakfast. All guest rooms include free wireless internet, coffeemaker, hair dryer, free local calls, alarm clock/radio, iron and board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Richmond
Richmond Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.