We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where were the pictures taken? Not in our room!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6531 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23230 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Richmond West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 81 hotels in Richmond
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Where were the pictures taken? Not in our room!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We came here based on reviews and the pictures on the hotel website. 1) Grand is a misleading title. We must have been booked in the rooms where pictures weren't taken. 2) Our room was very dated, poor water pressure in shower and very noisy air conditioner. 3) interior of elevators were in desperate need of a cleaning and our floor's hallway smelled damp and also in need of a deep carpet shampooing. There must be a special set of rooms where those that wrote better reviews stayed. 4) Front desk staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpeters69, Manager at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Ed G,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. I apologize for the experience you had with your stay with us. We are currently under new management and are making the necessary changes to improve the quality and customer service at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel.Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Robert G. Peters
General Manager
Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    35
    37
    52
    57
See reviews for
51
28
17
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Clean rooms and bathrooms, fabulous price, hotel is centrally located to everything. Front desk staff members were very nice. All things considered, a delightful weekend in Richmond. We didn't use the pool, so we can't comment. A good value for the price!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

stayed here 3 times in the past few months. staff was very helpful and friendly. Rooms were
clean, and the hotel is located close to stores and restaurants. It also as a pool and hot tub
which is great for bringing your family and kids to enjoy while away at work. I had a issue with the
cable but as soon as i called down to the front desk the staff had it taken care of right away
so i have no complaints and i would recommend anyone to stay here

Room Tip: I would recommend sleeping on the 5th floor, not alot of noise and very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

POOR POOR Customer Service- Smelly, very poor maintenance- where are the shampooers and vacuums?
I booked this hotel 10/17/13 from online (not from Trip Advisor) based on the basic rating of 3 and for the cost.
Did not know the ratings were skewed by the online company.
To begin- from the moment I drove into the parking area I wondered if the place was abandoned due to the High grass, trash and overall lack of maintenance. Giving the benefit of the doubt I proceeded to check-in. The front door windows were dirty, the entrance rugs were filthy (not raining) and the lobby smell was uninviting. The lobby ceiling had cracks and showed evidence of a water leak.

Once I did speak with the front desk clerk (she was very unfriendly) after waiting 10 mins. NOT Checking-In- I asked for a REFUND. She stated I was 15mins too late and could not receive a refund- I needed to speak to a manager. Waited another 10-15 mins for the manager to return to work. Asked for a refund. I was told I needed to call the Online agent for a refund or credit but I was too late to receive a refund from their end. I explained to the manager that I would need to call the Richmond City Code Enforcement to inspect the hotel for violations. The manager stated that he did not care if I called President Obama, I was not getting a refund...Nasty character!!!.
Being that I was in Richmond on business I was not prepared to pay for another hotel.,,but I went looking anyway, hoping to find another hotel I could afford. I had to end up going back to that RAT HOLE!! It does not matter how much a hotel cost when it comes to cleanliness and customer service... there is no excuse for poor management on any level. I could write for an hour on my horrible experience. The customer photos currently posted are TRUE!!! DO NOT spend a dime on this place. The Airport chairs or a campground would be nicer. To be honest the beds were ok. the rest is a NO!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpeters69, Manager at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear d2yadah,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. I apologize for the experience you had with your stay with us. We are currently under new management and are making the necessary changes to improve the quality and customer service at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Robert G. Peters
General Manager
Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here a few weeks ago for University of Richmond family weekend. It was on the list provided by the school, and cost the least. It also had an indoor pool, so I booked two nights. Oh boy....my mattress sagged, the pool was freezing, the hot tub was broken, and there were no towels at the pool. The place could be nice, but it is run down, not very clean, and a bit dated. It is a shame, because the location is good, and the place could, with a bit of work, be really nice.The only people saw working there were behind the front desk. They were nice if you talked to them, but not outgoing by any means.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpeters69, Manager at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Linda B,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. I apologize for the experience you had with your stay with us. We are currently under new management and are making the necessary changes to improve the quality and customer service at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel.Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Robert G. Peters
General Manager
Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My family and I spent 2 nights here in 4 different rooms. There was a lot of confusion with the same last name, staggered arrivals, and new staff training at the hotel. But at checkout, the hotel insisted we had stayed in 5 rooms. After a lengthy discussion, they agreed it was only 4 and refunded the overpayment. But then after we were gone, they reapplied the overcharge!

We have contacted the hotel multiple times to resolve the issue, they are not interested in making it right. Avoid this hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms in another hotel are better than rooms in this one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpeters69, Manager at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. I apologize for the experience you had with your stay with us. We are currently under new management and are making the necessary changes to improve the quality and customer service at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Robert G. Peters
General Manager
Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

After reading the reviews here I called with concerns because I am attending a conference here. The young lady that answered the phone, Ashley, was very helpful and addressed my concerns the best way she could. I called back when I noticed that the rate had dropped $29 for the nights I was staying, and different lady answered and was resistant to help. When I told her that I had concerns because of what was posted in words, details, and pictures on the website just this month, she told me about the inspection certificate from Henrico County received and posted. I asked her if I could read a review to her, and she said no and hung up the phone! Not only that but I tried to call back and no one answered. I contacted the closest reputable and clean hotel where I had stayed before (The Westin) and the manager was aware of issues at the Magnuson. He was very sympathetic, and even though they were booked for one of my nights, he suggested that I contact the Hampton Inn (a couple of blocks away) for a room. He also told me to check back tomorrow for cancellation for Friday night and he would get me in. The Hampton Inn manager gave me more background on his experience with the Magnuson and was gracious in accommodating me. He has had issues contacting management there as well. I have never had such an experience with a hotel, and Richmond chain hotels tend to be reputable, clean, and friendly - low to high-end. I will NOT stay at the Magnuson Grand, because I fear the only thing grand going on here is consumer deception. Check the pictures from other visitors. Only the nice front desk person, Ashley, and the fact that I have not seen the place (I will Thursday) allows me to give this a "Poor" instead of "Terrible" rating. If I find anything different after the three day conference, I will update my post.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpeters69, Manager at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. I apologize for the experience you had with your stay with us. We are currently under new management and are making the necessary changes to improve the quality and customer service at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Robert G. Peters
General Manager
Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel

Address: 6531 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23230 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Richmond West)
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 81 hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 100 percent smoke free Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel is 8 miles northwest of downtown Richmond, and less than 4 miles from the University of Richmond, Henrico Doctors' Hospital, Phillip Morris- Altria, INC, Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens, and the Belmont Golf Course. Guests of the Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel can enjoy an indoor pool, jacuzzi, on-site fitness room, and a complimentary continental breakfast. All guest rooms include free wireless internet, coffeemaker, hair dryer, free local calls, alarm clock/radio, iron and board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Richmond
Richmond Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.