We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel, had to switch rooms 3 times.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6531 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23230 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Richmond West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Old hotel, had to switch rooms 3 times.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Once again I used priceline and will con't to use them. I went into my room and the thermostat for the HVCC was torn off the wall, you had to use the buttons on the window unit. The a/c was not working, I had already unpack for a two week stay. I complained and I moved. The maintenance worker that was helping me is their best asset. He is foreign and it took him three rooms to find the right room, that is with everything working properly. A really nice guy that wanted to make me happy. I needed a small refrigerator due to my length of stay and I had water and energy bars I like to keep cool.

Overall, do not bid over $40.00 for this location try to get a king, a double room is very small. Priceline rated this as a 3 star, I would say 2 at best.

Room Tip: King size and ask when was the room remodeled or upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    36
    39
    54
    64
See reviews for
56
31
17
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed one night . We booked ahead for a Friday night and got an excellent rate. The room was spacious and the bathroom was spotless with soft white towels. Continental breakfast was generous. The staff were very welcoming and keen to help. The whole experience was much much better than we expected from a chain hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This hotel has a lot going for it. It was clean and quiet. There is a pool, a gym and it is close to the interstate and downtown. The TV channels are a bit limited but they do get HBO and several very good cable choices too. This was not really a problem. The hotel offers free wireless internet but I found it hard to make the connection in the room but the lobby's signal was much stronger.
While I asked for a quiet room, far from the elevator and ice machine, I found my room only 3 doors down from it. However, once the door was closed there really was not any unreasonable noise from that. Also disappointing was that when I opened the drapes the room over looked a lower roof with 5 large air conditioners and several other large mechanical things. While there was a small bit of noise from these, it was also not as bad as feared. The hotel has obviously done a very good job in the sound proofing area.
The beds were very comfy with nice pillows. The sheets were on the bottom and top keeping the blanket from touching. There was also a nice array of products - shampoo, conditioner, mouthwash . . . but also a cute little bag on the bed filled with lavender linen spray, ear plugs and a sleep mask.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Nice friendly staff, thats the first thing I noticed. The hotel is on the older side, but well established and know how to treat guests. I was impressed. I dont typically leave reviews but felt like they warranted it. Walked over to the restaurant for a quick bite and was surprised at how quick I got seated and served. Had a nice conversation with the hostess about some of the history around Richmond. I felt genuinely welcomed and comfortable. Rooms again were on the older side, but very clean and well maintained. Good value, and I recommend this place to others.

Room Tip: Call direct and book. Your best bet is to speak to a person, very friendly and accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Our family is glad that we chose to stay at this hotel. During our 4 day stay, we found our stay comfortable and the staff including assistant front office manager, Huseyin Cakir, to be extremely helpful and responsive to our needs. He is an attribute to the Crowne Plaza organization.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, Panama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Super Clean, Very Comfortable Bed, Nice Restaurant. I was most impressed by the staff. They are very attentive to guests. It was very consistent, not just a few of the staff.

Hurricane Irene: We were there during the Hurricane. Staff was on hand to help with small things that came up. No complaints. Good generator provided basics until power was restored. Compliments! You handled a tough situation very well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1RichmondReview196, Director of Sales at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Ed and A.

Thank you for your valued feedback and review. While we take tremendous pride in providing the most clean and comfortable environment for all of our valued guests, it is our well trained and service dedicated staff which makes the Crowne Plaza Richmond West a memorable experience and not just another hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Please provide the USA channel to your list of viewing channels. Especially, because of the series that come on this channel, compared to the major stations in the summer. Also, please provide refrigerators in the rooms, and much bigger closets. I have to be here for a month an d had to request a luggage cart to hang all the clothes, I had to bring for this time period.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1RichmondReview196, Director of Sales at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear Maryanne.

Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Richmond West. While we value all of the feedback we receive from our guests, it is especially great to hear of the experience from guests with extended stays with us, as it provides us with a level of consistancy we strive to acheive each and every day. We are pleased to see the highest possible rating you gave us on our cleanliness and service. We take incredible pride in both of these very important areas.

We do have refrigerators available for our guests upon request. I am sorry if this information was not relayed to you during your stay. You recommendationi of the USA Channel has been passed on to our General Manager for consideration. Also, we will review how we may further service our valued extended stay guests with additional storage. Increasing our closet size would detract from the spacious living space within the overnight rooms, which is an assest in comparision to many newly built hotels.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you once again when staying in Richmond, Virginia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel

Address: 6531 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23230 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Richmond West)
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 100 percent smoke free Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel is 8 miles northwest of downtown Richmond, and less than 4 miles from the University of Richmond, Henrico Doctors' Hospital, Phillip Morris- Altria, INC, Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens, and the Belmont Golf Course. Guests of the Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel can enjoy an indoor pool, jacuzzi, on-site fitness room, and a complimentary continental breakfast. All guest rooms include free wireless internet, coffeemaker, hair dryer, free local calls, alarm clock/radio, iron and board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Richmond
Richmond Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.