We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place, take a canal boat ride while you're there” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Walk

Canal Walk
12th & Canal Sts, Richmond, VA
804-649-2800
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 159 things to do in Richmond
Attraction details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Fun place, take a canal boat ride while you're there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a lovely area and a great place for a sunny stroll. We enjoyed a boat ride while there and appreciated the historic naration. It's inexpensive and would be a nice family outing.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    44
    15
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Family time without spending a dime!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Great walk with the kids in tow or just a stroll with you and your love. You can pay extra and do the canal cruise which is most interesting but just walking around the Canal Walk is a great self guided tour. Definitely worth the time when you are in Richmond.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“relaxing and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We very much enjoyed the canal boat ride. There was much history about the canal and surrounding area. It was very relaxing and restful after we spent the day before at Richmond International Raceway and did lots of walking! The canal area is very pretty and many people are about walking and enjoying a lovely Sunday in Richmond.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great - Fairly Cheap / Richmond / Couples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was an excellent trip - we went with my parents and another couple - had a great time. We at one of the restaurants on the Canal Walk and took the canal boat to see some of the best views of Richmond I've ever seen.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Canal Walk Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Went on the canal boat ride and the tour guide (COTTON) was a great knowledgable person. He shares with you everything about the history of Richmond and the surrounding areas.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canal Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.