We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding flowers, gardens, and grounds!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maymont

Maymont
1700 Hampton St, Richmond, VA 23220
804 358 7166
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 99 attractions in Richmond
Type: Historic Sites, Parks, Gardens, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Maymont is a 100-acre American estate, an extraordinary gift given to us by James and Sallie Dooley who lived here from 1893 to 1925. Whether strolling in the gardens, touring the mansion or watching river otters play, there is something for everyone to enjoy.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Outstanding flowers, gardens, and grounds!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

This is truly the gem of Richmond. A trip to Richmond is not complete without spending time strolling through the different flower gardens and mansion. The area is very well kept and maintained!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    122
    16
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Must go, must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The grounds, the gardens, the buildings, the tour were great .... did a quick stop ... definitely a place you can spend all day at. ... family friendly. ... but also a great place for couples

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

On our way to the Outerbanks, we stopped for an overnight visit in Richmond, VA. After an 8-hour drive, we decided to find some place that we could stretch our legs and decided to visit Maymont Park. We were not disappointed! The park is beautiful, relaxing and can be explored at your own pace. We spent 3-hours (our own choice), walking the grounds, taking in each of the beautiful gardens, ponds, tree-lined streets and animal exhibits. We saw many people enjoying the park with picnics under beautiful trees, flying kites and model airplanes, or relaxing with a book. There are few locations where you can stop for a small snack (vending machine and a small cafe in the nature building). The park offers a beautiful backdrop for a family photo! Don't forget to visit the mansion!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great family outing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Beautiful grounds with interesting things to explore. My teenagers liked it as much as my ten year old. You should definitely go on a house tour.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is an awesome park. The waterfall and Japanese garden and pond area are absolutely fantastic. Very beautiful. The koi are huge and look as if they are floating in mid air in some spots, as the water is so clear. All the reviews that list as must see are correct. This is a great place for everyone, solo, couples, kids and families.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maymont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maymont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Maymont to your Saves list