We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maymont

Maymont
1700 Hampton St, Richmond, VA 23220
804 358 7166
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 82 Attractions in Richmond
Type: Historic Sites, Museums, Gardens, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Parks, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Maymont is a 100-acre American estate, an extraordinary gift given to us by James and Sallie Dooley who lived here from 1893 to 1925. Whether strolling in the gardens, touring the mansion or watching river otters play, there is something for everyone to enjoy.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

On our way to the Outerbanks, we stopped for an overnight visit in Richmond, VA. After an 8-hour drive, we decided to find some place that we could stretch our legs and decided to visit Maymont Park. We were not disappointed! The park is beautiful, relaxing and can be explored at your own pace. We spent 3-hours (our own choice), walking the grounds, taking in each of the beautiful gardens, ponds, tree-lined streets and animal exhibits. We saw many people enjoying the park with picnics under beautiful trees, flying kites and model airplanes, or relaxing with a book. There are few locations where you can stop for a small snack (vending machine and a small cafe in the nature building). The park offers a beautiful backdrop for a family photo! Don't forget to visit the mansion!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    147
    18
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Layton, Utah
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great family outing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Beautiful grounds with interesting things to explore. My teenagers liked it as much as my ten year old. You should definitely go on a house tour.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is an awesome park. The waterfall and Japanese garden and pond area are absolutely fantastic. Very beautiful. The koi are huge and look as if they are floating in mid air in some spots, as the water is so clear. All the reviews that list as must see are correct. This is a great place for everyone, solo, couples, kids and families.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Moriches
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful parks you will ever see. They have animals, winding trails, a Japanese garden, waterfall, and big open spaces for picnics. Perfect for a romantic date or a family outing. Mansion tours available. Warning: lots of walking with big hills- not for anyone who has trouble walking.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Gilded Age Opulence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The 100-acre, late Victorian country estate typifies the Gilded Age Opulence. Built in 1893 by James and Sally Dooley, the 33-room Maymont Mansion is very impressive; however, the dark wood interior makes it feel a little gloomy....can't imagine living there. Maymont was the most elaborate of several elite homes that reflected the high style of that era. We had a guided tour, by an excellent docent, of twelve restored rooms. Many of the furnishings were brought back from their travels to Europe. The estate is now a public park and it is wise to park and take the tram ride up to the mansion, which sits high on a hill.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maymont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maymont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.