We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maymont

Maymont
1700 Hampton St, Richmond, VA 23220
804 358 7166
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 83 Attractions in Richmond
Type: Historic Sites, Museums, Gardens, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Parks, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Maymont is a 100-acre American estate, an extraordinary gift given to us by James and Sallie Dooley who lived here from 1893 to 1925. Whether strolling in the gardens, touring the mansion or watching river otters play, there is something for everyone to enjoy.
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Few cities have municipal parks of this magnitude and scope. Richmonders are blessed. From the animals to the plants (don't miss the day lilies in the summer!), this park is a delight for all ages.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    147
    18
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice walk for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Spent an afternoon there with my five year old son. The aquarium and nature center were both nice. The children's farm had goats, pigs, chickens, a donkey. The animals were well kept. The wildlife viewing area was very nice, the animals had lots of room to roam in a natural habitat (black bear, deer, fox, owls, eagles). We didn't make it into the mansion, but the gardens were beautiful. We would like to go back and spent more time another day. Lots of babies and young kids out for a stroll with their parents. Very safe and peaceful walk. Beautiful mature trees, lots of shade.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Thursday Concerts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Didn't know much about the place, met my cousin for a free Thursday night jazz concert which I think occurs every Thursday evening (could be wrong). Brought a cooler with food & drink listened to great live music. Kids loved it, plenty of room to run around. Perfect weather didn't hurt either. Cool place, want to return to see more of it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was traveling on business and had a little downtime over the weekend. I dropped by Maymont for a quick stroll. The gardens and fountains were beautiful. I loved watching the large Koi swim around the Japanese garden with the floating circles.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“A Nice Historical Victorian Home & Park Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is a very nice place to go in Richmond. Take a tour of the Dooley's Victorian Home, from the Gilded Age. They have the old stables and some of their cars in the garages for display. There are horse drawn carriage rides on the property, as well as a tram for sight seeing and getting around the place. They have very nice walking and natural scenic trails, as well as a small petting Zoo, a nature center. Very nice place to visit, especially on a day with beautiful weather. We enjoy this site very much, they also have some events throughout the year for the public.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maymont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maymont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.