We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice walk for kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maymont

Maymont
1700 Hampton St, Richmond, VA 23220
804 358 7166
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 163 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Maymont is a 100-acre American estate, an extraordinary gift given to us by James and Sallie Dooley who lived here from 1893 to 1925. Whether strolling in the gardens, touring the mansion or watching river otters play, there is something for everyone to enjoy.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice walk for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Spent an afternoon there with my five year old son. The aquarium and nature center were both nice. The children's farm had goats, pigs, chickens, a donkey. The animals were well kept. The wildlife viewing area was very nice, the animals had lots of room to roam in a natural habitat (black bear, deer, fox, owls, eagles). We didn't make it into the mansion, but the gardens were beautiful. We would like to go back and spent more time another day. Lots of babies and young kids out for a stroll with their parents. Very safe and peaceful walk. Beautiful mature trees, lots of shade.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    641
    196
    22
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thursday Concerts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Didn't know much about the place, met my cousin for a free Thursday night jazz concert which I think occurs every Thursday evening (could be wrong). Brought a cooler with food & drink listened to great live music. Kids loved it, plenty of room to run around. Perfect weather didn't hurt either. Cool place, want to return to see more of it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was traveling on business and had a little downtime over the weekend. I dropped by Maymont for a quick stroll. The gardens and fountains were beautiful. I loved watching the large Koi swim around the Japanese garden with the floating circles.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“A Nice Historical Victorian Home & Park Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is a very nice place to go in Richmond. Take a tour of the Dooley's Victorian Home, from the Gilded Age. They have the old stables and some of their cars in the garages for display. There are horse drawn carriage rides on the property, as well as a tram for sight seeing and getting around the place. They have very nice walking and natural scenic trails, as well as a small petting Zoo, a nature center. Very nice place to visit, especially on a day with beautiful weather. We enjoy this site very much, they also have some events throughout the year for the public.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgiinia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to visit with children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have taken my children here many times over the years and now take my grandson. It is an awesome place to enjoy nature and see the different types of animals that live in Virginia. Take a picnic lunch, the stroller (for small children) camera and enjoy! Not for those that don't like to walk as it is hilly and spread out, but a beautiful chunk of Richmond to enjoy.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maymont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maymont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.