We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to spend the day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maymont

Maymont
1700 Hampton St, Richmond, VA 23220
804 358 7166
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 101 attractions in Richmond
Type: Historic Sites, Parks, Gardens, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Maymont is a 100-acre American estate, an extraordinary gift given to us by James and Sallie Dooley who lived here from 1893 to 1925. Whether strolling in the gardens, touring the mansion or watching river otters play, there is something for everyone to enjoy.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to spend the day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Being huge park in the center of the city it's easy to spend a day here. Pack a lunch and have a picnic in one of the many fields. Check out the animals enjoy nature and tour a mansion all in one stop.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    127
    17
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, VA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Always a fun day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We've been to Maymont a few times and it's always fun. It's fun to take a picnic and go with kids to see the animals and walk through the various gardens, but it's a great date too! Make sure to find out what weekend the plant sale is being held in May, it's a don't miss event for the gardener!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond va
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Free”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The place is beautiful. There is a lot of walking if you want to see it all. They have a petting zoo and other animals to see as you walk the park.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A window to the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stumbled upon Maymont passing through Richmond, VA. Our visit was in January 2013, so the gardens were dorment and we didn't walk the grounds at all. They suggest a $5 donation to enter the home and it is one of the best old homes I've toured, well worth $5! The highlights include 90% if the furniture and things in the home are original. There are some breathtaking furniture pieces here and the stained glass windows in the main entry are spectacular Tiffany designs. Also the basement area displayes the servents quarters and workstations. Typically, you never see the inner workings of a historic home, so this was very interesting! The house tour was only 30 min long, I could have stayed there much longer looking at everything! We will have to visit again in the spring or summer to see the groungs.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“what a wonderful place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have lived in Virginia for 2 decades and always heard about Maymont but never visited. We happened to be in Richmond on a beautiful winter day and decided to go to Maymont. I was pleasantly surprised. This is a great park in the middle of the city. Farm animals, beautiful landscaping, many childrens activities. I did not visit the house but will on my next visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maymont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maymont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.