We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A window to the past” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maymont

Maymont
1700 Hampton St, Richmond, VA 23220
804 358 7166
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 99 attractions in Richmond
Type: Historic Sites, Parks, Gardens, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Maymont is a 100-acre American estate, an extraordinary gift given to us by James and Sallie Dooley who lived here from 1893 to 1925. Whether strolling in the gardens, touring the mansion or watching river otters play, there is something for everyone to enjoy.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A window to the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stumbled upon Maymont passing through Richmond, VA. Our visit was in January 2013, so the gardens were dorment and we didn't walk the grounds at all. They suggest a $5 donation to enter the home and it is one of the best old homes I've toured, well worth $5! The highlights include 90% if the furniture and things in the home are original. There are some breathtaking furniture pieces here and the stained glass windows in the main entry are spectacular Tiffany designs. Also the basement area displayes the servents quarters and workstations. Typically, you never see the inner workings of a historic home, so this was very interesting! The house tour was only 30 min long, I could have stayed there much longer looking at everything! We will have to visit again in the spring or summer to see the groungs.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    122
    16
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“what a wonderful place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have lived in Virginia for 2 decades and always heard about Maymont but never visited. We happened to be in Richmond on a beautiful winter day and decided to go to Maymont. I was pleasantly surprised. This is a great park in the middle of the city. Farm animals, beautiful landscaping, many childrens activities. I did not visit the house but will on my next visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place to take a long walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This park has over 100 acres. There is a variety of animals to see and and old farm house from the 1800s. Well worth a visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fauxmaven
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Breathtaking, but no photos allowed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were on a private tour of the house and grounds,The gardens, particularly the Japanese Garden was the best I have seen. I was annoyed that they had no book for sale, yet no photos were allowed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I love Maymont. It's a wonderful place for a long walk up and down the hills, or just for a stroll around the house to educate yourself about the many trees populating the expansive grounds. Over twenty years ago, my children clambered over the roots of trees clinging to the embankment above the bear enclave, and played hide-and-seek in the bamboo "forest" in the Japanese Garden. Children still play in both areas, as well as enjoy running freely on the many open grassy areas of the park. There is something for everyone of every age at Maymont. Take a look at the website to get an idea of what peaks your interest.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maymont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maymont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Maymont to your Saves list