We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking, but no photos allowed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maymont

Maymont
1700 Hampton St, Richmond, VA 23220
804 358 7166
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 160 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Maymont is a 100-acre American estate, an extraordinary gift given to us by James and Sallie Dooley who lived here from 1893 to 1925. Whether strolling in the gardens, touring the mansion or watching river otters play, there is something for everyone to enjoy.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Breathtaking, but no photos allowed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were on a private tour of the house and grounds,The gardens, particularly the Japanese Garden was the best I have seen. I was annoyed that they had no book for sale, yet no photos were allowed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    178
    20
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I love Maymont. It's a wonderful place for a long walk up and down the hills, or just for a stroll around the house to educate yourself about the many trees populating the expansive grounds. Over twenty years ago, my children clambered over the roots of trees clinging to the embankment above the bear enclave, and played hide-and-seek in the bamboo "forest" in the Japanese Garden. Children still play in both areas, as well as enjoy running freely on the many open grassy areas of the park. There is something for everyone of every age at Maymont. Take a look at the website to get an idea of what peaks your interest.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Love taking the tour of the house and seeing all the decorations at Christmas but Spring is my favorite. Beautiful gardens and flowers!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond va
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“LOVELY PLACE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

One of the prettiest places in Richmond. If you can take a tour of the house, it is amazing. A must see!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great free day for the family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Want to see birds, bears, monkeys and more? Want a petting zoo for the little ones? Want a nice hike around well landscaped property? If so, this is the place for you! And, for a small fee, you can also tour the Dooley mansion which is nice to do at least once.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maymont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maymont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.