We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new Ethiopian flower is found” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Addis Restaurant

Addis Restaurant
9 N. 17th Street, Richmond, VA 23219
(804) 308-3649
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Addis Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #179 of 1,374 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A new Ethiopian flower is found”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Well if you did not know Addis ababa means "new flower" in native Ethiopian language. So we ventured into this little restaurant in downtown cobbled stone Richmond to see what the food was like. I am a big fan of lamb and anything or anyone that makes it I am there at first and last bite. It took some time to understand the menu but the service was kind enough to ask what we were looking for and helped us pick a few items. One appetizer and a main course. Now the food comes in a round dish with a rice flour bread at the bottom. This bread is not fully cooked so it can be spongy to feel and taste. The meal is placed on top from meats to beans depending on your order. All three meats (lamb to fish to chicken) were clearly well marinated and cooked slowly so quite tender. Now there is no rice and we ate traditionaly with our fingers which was a unique experience in itself.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Better than it looks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I had the opportunity to dine here on Memorial Day.
There wasn't much traffic that day and I was fearful that it could mean subpar food.
I don't have extensive experience at Ethiopian restaurants but feel that the food here was among the best that I have had. The injera was perfect consistency. The vegetables were properly cooked and flavored. I will definitely go back

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“First Time Trying Ethiopian Food And Loved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Have never tried Ethiopian food and was very happy to have tried it at Addis. We arrived very early for dinner and the owner greeted us and was very friendly. Our server was as well and very helpful with the menu items. We started off with sambussas and ordered a terrific wine; I believe its called Axumite; a sweet red wine. I do not care for wine, but I certainly enjoyed this one. The server then brought out the main courses and sides in a large dish with a plate of injera; a classic Ethiopian bread used to eat your meal with by tearing off pieces and using it to grab bites of food. It has a mild sourdough taste. Our main courses consisted of two beef dishes and a lamb dish with lentils and potatoes. They also added a cabbage dish that was absolutely phenomenal; I have no idea how they prepared it, but I didn't know you could do that with cabbage. My father mentioned to the owner that it was his wife's birthday and the owner himself came out and presented her with a glass of honey wine. I think it may have been called Saba Tej. A little too sweet for me, but she raved about it and started searching for it as soon as we got home that night. I enjoyed this meal very much and would definitely recommend it. To me; the only drawback could be the parking. It seems to only be street parking in that area. I think there might have been a parking lot just down the block, but I'm not sure. But I wouldn't let the parking distract you from trying out a real gem of a restaurant in Richmond.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Ethiopian fare is my favorite and Addis does not disappoint. Not only if the food delicious, the service is great too... A rarity in Richmond. Thursday they have half priced entrees during happy hour. Like them on Facebook to get updates.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Truly authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Lovely restaurant ambience. The food is just perfect blend of spices and freshness. Don't miss this place...they are very accommodating and friendly here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Addis Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Addis Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Addis Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.