We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pet friendly choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Richmond South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Richmond South to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Richmond South
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9040 Pams Avenue, Richmond, VA 23237   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good pet friendly choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

On the way home to Miami, we checked in very late - easy check in and very affordable upgrade to the King Suite. Best part - no pet fee!! Hot breakfast in the morning, including the rotary waffle maker. Plenty of green areas for the pets' potty breaks made it easy. The room was very clean and the bed quite comfortable. The only downside we experienced were a few sketchy characters walking around late at night on the sidewalks, but the hotel has no control over that.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    52
    33
    26
    22
See reviews for
85
37
14
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Never stayed at a La Quinta soo bad!!! Dirty, not clean even after room serviced. Better to skip a day, can you imagine? Grounds not kept up. Kept thinking maybe a bad day with staff. Furnishings terrible 10 plus years old and soiled! Not real sure when the bed spreads were even washed, had burned holes in. It was a non smoking hotel but cigarette butts everywhere on the grounds. Had our small dog with us and we picked up her poop but there was so much not picked up, would have thought the staff would have picked up the grounds? I am really surprised that this location is a La Quinta. When was the last time it was checked on? Needs to be an Econo Lodge.

Room Tip: Do not stay. Might be better stay in your car for the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroudsburg, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We were greeted by a friendly and efficient front desk clerk after a 11 hour drive that should have been half the time. We had our dog. The motel was quiet and no other dogs were noisy during the night. Our rooms were clean and had a refrigerator and microwave. Our breakfast included sausage, eggs, and waffles. We enjoyed our breakfast. It was a great value for the stay. We plan to return soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

If it wasn't raining like crazy and if it wasn't 1am, there is NO WAY IN HELL we would stay here! They updated the outside of this place to "lure" you in! DONT BE FOOLED--it's a TRICK! The rooms feels like a 1-star establishment. The carpet is dirty. The towels feel like sandpaper and are dingy. The ONLY good thing about this place is that you get what you pay for! Guess you can't expect much for $66 :-(
Oh well...at least they are not super expensive.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Staying at LQ never disappoints. Always clean & quiet, we get a great nights sleep, & our pet stays free. Why stay anywhere else? It wouldn't make sense. We've stayed at discount, "leave the light on" places that turned out to be a nightmare.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stopped at this La Quinta on Tuesday evening. as soon as I pulled into the parking lot, I said to my wife "this ain't good". There was trash around the building, leaves had not been removed, a couple of watering hoses were laying about, and one room had a board covering a broken window..!!! Anyway, I registered, and got to the room. The room was adequate, nothing special and was relatively clean as was the interior of the place. The breakfast was OK...again nothing special. We had no problems but this place should be taken care of much better. Would I stay at this La Quinta again....probalbly not.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefield, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stopped here on our way to Florida as it is the half way point on our trip which put us just to the south of Richmond. The staff was very friendly and efficient. Our dog was welcomed and we were given a room on the first floor close to the outside. The hotel was close to I-95 which made it very convenient off and on the highway, yet it was very quiet and comfortable. Air conditioning was efficient and we really enjoyed the Jacuzzi tub after the long drive! The front desk offered local restaurants where we could order in and were very surprised at the amount of food for such a low price. We definitely will stay here again on our way through.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Richmond South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Richmond South

Address: 9040 Pams Avenue, Richmond, VA 23237
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Richmond South 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Richmond South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Richmond South Hotel Richmond
La Quinta Richmond
Richmond La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Richmond South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.