We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let them give you a lock out room !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Richmond South

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Richmond South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Richmond South
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9040 Pams Avenue, Richmond, VA 23237   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 81 hotels in Richmond
Mount Arlington, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't let them give you a lock out room !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

On the way to New Jersey,stayed at La Quinta in Pooler Ga,night before,what a come down to this La Quinta! Needs to be freshened up, old smell of cigarette smoke,especially in the hallways. We were upgraded to a suite,attached to another room with lock out door, felt like they were in the room with us, and when they flushed the toilet oh my! We will. Stay in Midlothian instead on the way back to Florida Thanks!

Room Tip: Don't take adjoining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    51
    29
    21
    20
See reviews for
79
35
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

1/11/13....After driving 10 hours checked into only laquinta in area, I have found Iaquinta to be a good hotel compareable to Marriotts Courtyard. Went to check in and he had no record of our reservation, also he was I rude and clueless. Tired just wanted a decent room for my family, after 30 minutes, got checked in. Room was on 2nd floor, on the way up it was apparent this hotel needs a update and differant management, carpet was dirty, stained and need of replacement. Upon entering the the smell was terrable, it smelled like some threw up in it and tried to cover the smell with some type of air freshener. Left the place immediately.....very disappointed with hotel...went to Marriott ten miles away and am very happy..

Room Tip: Do not stay here!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Hotel needs updating, elevator dirty & smelly. Room was semi run down, beds were comfy though. Asked for non-smoking room, the bathroom smelled like an ashtray (this was after it was sprayed with some air freshener from the front desk). Why so many stray cats in the parking lot at night? Front desk clerk was less than pleasant in the morning. Will look for another place next time we're in town is it doesn't compare to other La Quintas.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking room
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

a huge side-eye to the negative reviews of this place as the hotel and our stay were absolutely great. the hotel is fresh and comfortable. the staff is friendly and accomodating. the rooms are very spacious and comfy. great beds, great shower pressure. this is the best la quinta i've stayed in. i have not one complaint.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The front desk clerk was dictatorial and rude. The hallways are dirty, room is only "okay" clean, the stairwells are filthy, the rear hallway doors do NOT lock from the outside so anyone can come wander here. Dog owners are stuck up on the 3rd floor while the 1st floor rooms are completely unrented, so we had to schlep up and down the stairs anytime we needed to take the dogs out. They also charged me 8% more as a walk in than what the room was advertised on the LQ website. Avoid.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

LaQuinta should take their name off of this hotel as management runs a dirty property. For example, food on microwave and food caked onto channel changer, dirty carpeting, human hair on chairs, stained bath towels, no pillow top bed, mattress has holes, nasty polyester bedspreads, and cheap pad with elastic bands on mattress.Elevator is cesspool which has been noted by other reviews. NO WONDER staff, appropriately attired in reverse cap and hip hop attire, was completely clueless . The false advertising of amenities is blamed, by staff, on corporate website's neglect in updating the listing. We have stayed in this chain's newer locations with great success but this facility is a hazard to your health. We will avoid breakfast at all costs. We seriously question the sources and validity of the stellar reviews....in the meantime, we are slathering on hand sanitizer.

Room Tip: Go to another property
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Richmond LaQuinta on Pams Ave. is one of the best LaQuintas I have ever stayed at. Well appointed, quite and friendly.

The lobby was very attractive and spacious and our room was quite just as we had requested.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn Richmond South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Richmond South

Address: 9040 Pams Avenue, Richmond, VA 23237
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 81 hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Richmond South 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn Richmond South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Richmond South Hotel Richmond
La Quinta Richmond
Richmond La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Richmond South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.