We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amour Wine Bistro

Amour Wine Bistro
3129 West Cary Street, Richmond, VA 23221
804 353 4020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Amour Wine Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 1,410 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French, Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Roanoke, VA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“An absolute gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were drawn in by the Eiffel tower on the sign (oh, okay...that and the chocolate creme brulee with salted caramel listed on the menu posted on the window!), and left over 2 hours later feeling that we had been whisked back to Paris! It was an absolutely transporting experience - a small, intimate space, lovely music, pictures of Paris, and the owner, Paul, who was the most gracious host. We had the croque monsieur and the Parisienne - both beautifully prepared and reminiscent of lunch in Paris. The chocolate creme brulee was incredible - perfect crunch, a light sprinkling of salt, incredible chocolate flavor. We also ordered coffee, which was delicious and beautifully served with a square of dark chocolate and a delicate, lemon madeleine. It was a surprise to walk out of the restaurant and find that we were in Carytown, not on the Left Bank! We will definitely be back, even though we, sadly, live 3 hours away...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    8
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Charming, romantic place...great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Amour has been open about two years, but my wife and I went for the first time last Saturday evening. It was excellent. The French owner was friendly and made some nice wine selections for us. We love Can Can directly across the street, but Amour is a nice contrast. Where Can Can is large, open and noisy, Amour is small, quiet and very romantically intimate; reminded us of either the West Village in NYC or Left Bank of Paris kind of place. Everything we had was very good: the lobster bisque was not overpowered by salt as most places make it. We shared the special of lamb stew, a salad, and sweet breads in an incredible sauce. We cannot wait to return to Amour.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pre-Theatre Pre Fixe Meal is Wonderful! Portions Fit for a Man”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 5:30 for the pre-theatre special. This gave us plenty of time to enjoy the delicious three course tasting menu with paired wine samplers and make it to The Byrd before the line for the Saturday evening showing got too long.

What really struck us about this restaurant was the generously sized portions. While certainly not in the mold of American "supersize" portions, the portions are the largest I've ever seen in a fine French restaurant. My husband just about finished his meal but couldn't touch my leftovers. Normally he's still famished after a fine French meal!

The owner came to our table and explained each of the wine pairings, which emphasizes selections from the Alsace. It was really a charming touch.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The prix fixe menu was reasonably priced and offered a wide choice. The food was excellent--inventive and very flavorful. A wine pairing with each course is optional, at three levels. We chose the basic level and were surprised at how beautifully the wines matched the cuisine. A bonus was that the owner, who is from Alsace and is passionate about wine, explained each selection to us in detail when it arrived.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Return to Paris if only for Moment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Echo these reviews!
Great dishes, great service, reasonable prices, Paul teh owners personal touch, superb recomemndations to menu and wines, warm atmsophere, took us back to some great spots we found in Paris- this has gone to the top of our list- located in lovely downtown Carytown to boot!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amour Wine Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Amour Wine Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amour Wine Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.