We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food in downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mama J's Kitchen

Mama J's Kitchen
415 North 1st St, Richmond, VA 23219
(804) 225-7449
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,494 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Goochland, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
417 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fantastic food in downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Have been a few times and never disappointed. Catfish is awesome, meatloaf great. sides are equally as good. The desserts...well, i have never had better cobbler......Will return again soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Mama J's is a restaurant worth visiting in the Richmond area! The food reminded me of my grandmother's cooking when I was young. The food is well seasoned and the service is great! All the vegetables are homemade as well the delicious chocolate cake-delicious!!!!! I can't wait to go back!!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sheshe2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
182 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a very small Resturant and the tables are close together, but do not let that detour you from eating there. You will have missed out on some of the best Southern food here. My Mother was born and raised in Louisiana and knew how to cook Southern food and this was just like eating my Mothers cooking.

We had Fried Catfish, Crab Cakes, Greens they were all the best. I ordered the Yams but they were not my favorite, just didn't taste like my Moms, but the others in the group liked them. There was so much food we had to take our Huge Cake slices to go, and they were great.

This is a busy place so get there early. The prices are good, the service was good, very friendly staff. A must!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Starlet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“10 yr anniversary luncheon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Awesome experience! Mama J took care of our reservation and came by the table to ensure we were happy with our entrees. The deserts are divine!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lawssm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Yum! Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

If you want great soul food in Richmond you need to visit Mama J's on North 1st Street. Near where the original Croaker's Spot used to be and even better food than Croaker's had. That is saying something! I had fried catfish, macaroni and cheese and greens. Wanted dessert but was so full couldn't even consider it.

Cute place, small and the wait staff is excellent. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Villasmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama J's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Mama J's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing