We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lady N'awlins Cajun Cafe

Lady N'awlins Cajun Cafe
2329 W. Main St, Richmond, VA 23220
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #478 of 1,304 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Curious about this restaurant, heard some good things about it. Decided to try it out after leaving Mama J's (one of our most fav downtown eateries) only because we didn't want to wait an hour to eat.
Entered Lady N'awlins, stepped down into the restaurant and had to walk thru the bar area to get to the dining area, it is a long and narrow layout. For a Sunday afternoon at 4pm the bar was pretty full, mostly college kids. This restaurant definitely wasn't what I was expecting. It was more of a hole in the wall. Looking at the menu online and the prices I was expecting a very nice restaurant. Not much room for the tables, chairs were rickety and right in the middle of the dining area was a door leading outside which was constantly being used by the cooks in the back and patrons of the bar. It was cold outside and each time the door opened a blast of cold air rushed in which made for an uncomfortable sitting. The waitress cranked up a space heater but that barely gave off any heat and it didn't seem as if there was any other heater in the place. So the place lacked a warm cozy feeling. Bathrooms were stinky. The whole place just had a cramped feeling. The music in the bar was ssoooooo loud I couldn't hear conversation with anyone at our table.
I ordered a shrimp po'boy, my husband the Na'wlins sampler which consisted of gumbo, jambalaya and beans and rice.
Food cooked and delivered quickly. Breading on shrimp was tasty and po'boy size was good. Had fried pickles instead of fries- they were okay. Dipping sauce for them wasn't all that great. Husband enjoyed his plate -even though they were delivered in 3 small bowls it was very filling for him. Food came on very nice dishes which seemed odd for the hole in the wall feel inside. Overall food was okay, not what it was cracked up to be. Not a place I would desire to go to again. Not one that I would recommend either. Seems to be more of a watering hole for the younger crowd.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of my worst restaurant experiences...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Had high expectations based on the solid reviews, but was disappointed and left frustrated with my experience.

I'll start with the good -
Location and ambiance was awesome
Great tap beer selection
Rice and beans

And the bad...
Service was horrible. Servers and bartender were more concerned gossiping with one another and texting on their phones than helping me. Took awhile for anyone to even notice my arrival. Not a good way to start off...

Ordered the seafood platter...overbreaded, fried catfish, shrimp, and oysters with no flavor to anything. Fried okra was the same way. Not the experience I hoped for.

I wouldn't return

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Okay...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I went here for the first time a while back with some friends. Eveything was pretty good but definitely overpriced for Richmond and what it was. No one seemed overly impressed and no one from the group has talked about going back. Again the food was okay and I might have given it a better review if it wasn't for the price. There is definitely better, more affordable food in Richmond.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A taste of New Orleans in the river city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Love coming here....great for couples wanting a close intimate dinner or for singles going to the bar. The cajun food is GREAT, the price is reasonable and we've always had GREAT customer service. Try the grilled cajun oysters...yummm. The gator bites are a fav, the best gumbo in richmond...also try the blackened catfish, crawfish monica and bbq shrimp & grits!! Treat yourself to something different....

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good food, cozy dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I'd been wanting to try Lady Nawlins for some time, and we finally went with out-of-town guests this Saturday for dinner. Overall dinner was good, with some minor room for improvement. The restaurant is narrow and cozy, nice for a date. We started with a few appetizers - alligator bites, oyster fritters, and pork boudin balls. The pork boudin balls were great, the alligator bites were good, the oyster fritters were ok. The wedge salad is very generous, enough for two or three people. For an entree, the Nawlins Sampler is nice - small bowls of rice and beans, jambalaya, and gumbo. Everything was tasty - the jambalaya and gumbo could have had a bit more andouille and chicken in them to make them proper entrees. For dessert, we all shared the beignets, bananas foster, and bread pudding and all three were delicious. I'd definitely return for a dinner date or drinks and appetizers with friends.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lady N'awlins Cajun Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Lady N'awlins Cajun Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lady N'awlins Cajun Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.