We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, outstanding food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of M Bistro and Wine Bar - CLOSED

M Bistro and Wine Bar
4821 Old Main St, Rocketts Landing, Richmond, VA 23231-3035
804-652-2300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: one transit stop one mile from restaurant
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, outstanding food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Went to the Wine Bistro tonight with 21 of my closest friends. The service was amazing. The staff was attentive and stayed on top of everything from drink refills to the individuals that arrived a little later than the rest of the dinner group.
I had the crab cake entree and it did not disappoint. My meal came with fingerling potatoes and broccoli and both were delicious. The house salad and dressing was tasty as well. Everyone in our party was really impressed with the presentation of each dish.
This place is well worth the visit. I will be back.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    20
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Loved this small, intimate fabulous restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I was at this restaurant for my husband's golf group and it was a great visit! I had crab cakes, with crab soup, and bread pudding and it was absolutely great tasting! The wait staff was attentive despite the larger number of members. I would highly recommend traveling to this restaurant!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Virginia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A Thanksgiving to Celebrate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My wife and I decided to eat out on Thanksgiving instead of cooking. She searched for restaurants in Richmond and found M Bistro and Wine Bar. How fortunate for us because the entire meal and evening was wonderful. They had 4 courses and each one was cooked to order. The crab nepolean was exceptional and the crab bisque that each of had was so good. Our main courses, lamb with black truffle an chilean sea bass were both over the top. Oh and they had a wine pairing for each course that we selected and each wine was delicious with the course. Dessert was picture book good. We are so happy we discovered M Bistro and wine Bar. We'll definitely go back for another of the Chef's meals. What a find!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Awesome brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Excellent brunch. Smoked salmon avocado was amazing, an the tiger shrimp grits were awesome. The apple martini was delicious.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“OK dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I took my wife here for our anniversary. It's located in the Rockett's Landing area of downtown Richmond with good parking close to the restaurant. The restaurant if very nice inside but if we had one major complaint it was that we were seated at a table that was way too close to other tables. By close,I mean maybe a foot apart. So much for any private conversation. I asked to moved and we were. Our new table was better but the impression left a sour taste in our mouths for the rest of the evening. Our waitress was good and we found the food to be well prepared.. The crab bisque was very good but very rich.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed M Bistro and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage M Bistro and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.