We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a tight squeeze” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Canal Cruises

Richmond Canal Cruises
139 Virginia Street, Richmond, VA 23219-4123
(804) 788-6466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 58 Activities in Richmond
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
Hampton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“a tight squeeze”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I recently got this deal on Groupon and tried it out. When I got there it was about a 30 min break before the boat left so we walked around the Canal Walk. When boarding you see how tight it is. You are knee to knee with the person directly accross from you. There is a bench in the middle with 2 sides and then chairs surounding the outside. If someone is larger or obese they are spilling over into your chair. Not comfortable for the 40 mins

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    18
    9
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napoleon, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I am glad we chose to do this. I liked hearing the history of the canal and the knowing about the old building along the canal. Short ride. Only takes 40 minutes. Only $6. Good price.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Super Canal Cruise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Recently took the canal cruise (we've lived here 13 years and never did it). Went early morning and had a delightful time. Excellent canal guide with lots of great stories and enthusiasm and a wonderful story telling voice that made you want to hear more. Very patient also since there were many photography buffs on board.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Affordable, short tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I took my family on this trip while they were in town and our boat was actually relatively empty. It is not the best tour in the area but it is exactly what you would expect for a $6, 45 minute tour. They take you to the area of the canal that you don't typically walk on so I would recommend walking the other end as is it more pedestrian friendly and more scenic (especially as you get down to Brown's Isle). This tour is more of a mini-history lesson on a short boat trip than a scenic cruise. I would definitely recommend this for families since it is not very long and is affordable for a larger group.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pretty dull, unfortunately”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our favorite rite of passage on our vacations has become a riverboat ride wherever available. We find them relaxing and a wonderful view of the city that you don't get anywhere else.

Not so much in Richmond, however. The boats leave every hour on the hour (be warned, there are no convenient restroom facilities anywhere nearby). The Guide was certainly knowledgeable but there just wasn't a lot to work with. The scenery is just...not there. The water is dirty, the canal is lined by rusting train tracks and old buildings converted into yuppie condos. There was nothing romantic at all. You are crammed into a 35-person boat designed for maybe half that number, and you go up the canal a few hundred yards, and then you go back the way you came.

The only bright spot came late in the cruise, when our guide compellingly recounted President Lincoln's arrival in Richmond at the end of the Civil War. That was interesting and dramatic, and kept this from being a 1-star review. The price was cheap at $6, I would not pay any more than that and frankly it's probably worth only $5.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richmond Canal Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Richmond Canal Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Canal Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.