We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tredegar Iron Works

Tredegar Iron Works
3215 E. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23223
804-226-1981
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 97 attractions in Richmond
Type: History Museums, Military Museums
Attraction Details
Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We didn't do the whole tour but walk near here so stopped in. Interesting gift shop. A coffee and snack machine with healthy choices. A good place to visit - will do the tour when we can plan for it. Just down the street from the VA War Memorial.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    22
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
“Museums and Grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I spent about 2 hours at this sight. the NPS museum was good. Not a lot of artifacts but a lot of good info. The Civil War museum was nicely kept and had good info with some interactive displays and videos. Both museums/visitor centers had great gift shops. The grounds around the sight was a nice area to walk around had many exhibits to see. The only big complaints I have is they should have had more about the Ironworks operation and the Civil War part should have only been a section of that. (Richmond has plenty of other places to tell about the war.) The other complaint was the info signs outside need repair and replacement. All were weather worn and some were missing. The cost was reasonable, NPS was free other center was $8.00 and parking was $3.00 and was validated if you went to the paid museum. There is free parking in the area if you don't mind walking. Overall I had a good time here. Would go again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“memorial day weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

very good display of information. Well laid out with lots of displays to see. the building with the park services was no charge, the other building had a nominal fee.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSalle, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Not to be Missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

When you go you will see it is situated on the beautiful James River. During our visit the wonderful and knowledgable historians will tell you all about the war, answer questions and show you pictures, maps etc. There are films running all the time explaining the different war battles, and it explains during the war the Tredegar Iron Works was a thriving factory, it produced much of the guns, ammunition and warship armor needed by the Confederate Army. During the duration of the war, operations continued nonstop to supply the southern troops. This is a free service to visitors but please don't hesitate to leave a generous donation in the boxes to help preserve this treasure. Tredgar is operated by the National Park Service and is part of the Richmond National Battlefield Park system. We took a self-guided tour of the grounds, after visiting the museum, through the ruins and learned of the importance of this strategic city in the Civil War.The Tredegar Iron Works is a nice stop on a civil war tour because it is located in the heart of the city, the museum itself is small, but has many interesting exhibits. After your visit don't miss the gift shop... we purchased many of the wonderful soldier replica's for our grandson's.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Critical Civil War History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had planned a full day of 4 museums in Richmond this day -- Tredegar Iron Works, American Civil War Museum, Museum of the Confederacy and the White House of the Confederacy. Since we only had this one day, this was really an ambitious undertaking so we got here just after 9am that morning. Purchase the ticket here for both Tredegar and the ACW museum next door.

The day was drizzly but we walked the grounds to read the plaques and get a sense of the place. There was only one other person out. We then went inside, saw the 2 films and toured the museum. I think we spent 1 1/2 hours here. The national park rangers that work here are wonderful and so helpful. These iron works were critical to the Confederate war effort and had there not been a fire in 1863, things might have turned out differently. It was fascinating.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tredegar Iron Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tredegar Iron Works, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tredegar Iron Works to your Saves list