We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEW WELCOME AREA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virginia Capitol Building

Virginia Capitol Building
9th & Grace Sts, Richmond, VA 23219
804 698 1788
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 158 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Inside the white, columned state capitol building, designed by Thomas Jefferson to resemble a first-century Roman temple in France, is the only sculpture of George Washington produced in his lifetime.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“NEW WELCOME AREA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Capitol is a great freebie to walk the grounds and see the architecture. Easy going Capitol police even let you walk within a 100 yards of the Governors mansion that is on the grounds.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    102
    15
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Historic Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This sparkling state house is a lively likeness of the White House (and has been used in movies to stand in for it). The fairly new basement-type entry is elegant and massive and provides a decent introduction to the Capitol itself. The building is rife with US history, from early 19th C. to recent days.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had a wonderful tour of this beautiful building by a great tour guide: Martha. She was very informative, engaged the young people and provided an excellent overview of the history of Virginia from the Revolutionary period and Civil War. She had extensive knowledge and took us through a absolutely excellent tour of the building. The one hour tour turned into 1 1/2 hour tour and the time flew by. The tour was not only educational but the best thing was how our tour guide embraced the history of Virginia that made the tour so memorable. She unlocked the Senate chambers and allow us to walk inside.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

My family and I visited the Capitol this past weekend and we enjoyed it very much. My two and a half year old was even entertained and there are a few steps but you get some exercise with your visit! This is definatly a site worth visiting and the people that work there were very nice

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Massapequa, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Historic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I loved taking the tour of the Capitol building. I dont think I would have done this with my children, but I thought it was very interesting. The fact that you are walking in the footsteps of our forefathers is exciting, and since it's not Washington DC you don't have the crowds yet you still get the history.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Capitol Building also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Capitol Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginia Capitol Building, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.