We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art, History and Government” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virginia Capitol Building

Virginia Capitol Building
9th & Grace Sts, Richmond, VA 23219
804 698 1788
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 83 Attractions in Richmond
Type: Architectural Buildings, Government Buildings, Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Inside the white, columned state capitol building, designed by Thomas Jefferson to resemble a first-century Roman temple in France, is the only sculpture of George Washington produced in his lifetime.
Comers Rock Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Art, History and Government”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Virginia History at its best. The history of the Commonwealth comes to life, as does the oldest representative Governing Body in the US, The Virginia House of Delegates. See a statue of Washington that he himself saw.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    89
    13
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Don't miss the free tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Our group was treated like royalty. We loved the history and our tour guide: Mrs. Snellings was the BEST! Take the hour and travel through history with her!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Building and Great Tour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

As a new resident of the Richmond area, I was excited to take a tour of the Capitol. This is a gorgeous building and there is a lot of history, so a tour is highly recommended. Obviously, the tour involved a lot of history about the Civil War, but the tour guide was highly knowledgeable, and answered questions on a variety of topics.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Stone Gap, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Capitol building is lovely. Virginia has a very beautiful Capitol city. One of the people in my group commented: Wow! I've never seen such a white building! :)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hu10 6as
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

great tour, great tour guide.learnt a lot about the civil war and the politics that lead up to the war great insight from our perspective

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Capitol Building also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Capitol Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginia Capitol Building, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.