We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - North Chesterfield - Arboretum

Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - North Chesterfield - Arboretum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - North Chesterfield - Arboretum
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   241 Arboretum Place, Richmond, VA 23236 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites - Richmond - Midlothian)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #44 of 81 hotels in Richmond
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“very good Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Thank you Jennifer Doing a excellent job at the frontdesks and Wateed manager and De'nel weekend and Shamika and Jade for house keeping. Please keep up the good work me and my family will be back to stay at the Homestead Studio Suites

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brish0213, Manager at Extended Stay America - North Chesterfield - Arboretum, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm so thankful for Jennifer, Waleed, De'Neal, Shamika and Jade, to provide that "Home Away From Home" experience for you. Thank you again for your review. We all look forward to seeing you again, when your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    1
    9
    10
See reviews for
12
8
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I use hotels regularly in my line of work and had been doing so for 5 strait months. I had a situation with a pet in the family who had just undergone cancer surgery. His mom was out of the country and I had to find a pet friendly hotel for a few weeks to care for him during recovery. I was not expecting such excellent service nor I was expecting them to show such compasion for my pet. There was scheduled fire system test one day and they did not even start the test until I could get back to the hotel so I could be there to prevent him from being completely horrified. They had even given us a room with an extra window so he could look out and get more light and it was on the end of the building with less noise to reduce the risk of him being disturbed. I was truly impressed and would use them again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brish0213, Manager at Extended Stay America - North Chesterfield - Arboretum, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm glad that we were able to make you and your pet feel at home. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is filthy and had bedbugs in 5 rooms . We checked in to find our room had them . They tryed to move us and we saw all the others did as well. So we quickly checked out. They charged our account twice causing our account to almost be over drawn ( we had paid for a week) . Worse hotel ever do not go there. Animals everwhere stinch of food from other guest. Nasty nasty

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brish0213, Owner at Extended Stay America - North Chesterfield - Arboretum, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
I recently received a copy of your review of the Homestead Richmond - Midlothian . Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

As this hotel’s manager, I challenge our staff to continually improve the experience of our guests, from the cleanliness of our rooms, to the courteous professionalism of our staff. Unfortunately, in your situation, it is clear that we were unsuccessful in achieving these goals. Given our belief that guests like you are our most valuable asset, this failure is particularly troubling.

Your review has caused us to take a serious look at the systems we have in place to handle our day to day operations and we will be making modifications as appropriate.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I truly enjoyed this vacation. My husband had to come to Richmond, Virginia for a week to receive some special training. I have to admit we where a little reluctant since we had stayed an extended stay hotel before. But we had to watch our spending and needed a place that we could prepare our own meals and every thing was convenient. So, eating out was just that, out of the question. So, we took a chance on Homestead Studio and Suites. Apparently they have upgraded somewhat, we where not expecting it to be like the Marriott or the Hyatt, but we got more than we expected. It was pleasant, and quite and clean. The room was clean, excluding the normal wear and tear, I wear slides, even at home, so my socks where clean. LOL. I was able to cook daily meals for my husband, and relax, and take a shower in a clean bathroom, and that is what Homestead provided. Now the kitchen could use a few more pots and pans, some serving bowls, and platters, Oh! And an oven! Then it could be called fully equipped, :). But I was able to adjust. Any other thing we need within reason, we ask for and were provided with it. The staff was exceptionally friendly and accommodating, the young lady that checked us in and checked us out De N_ _ _ _, and the young lady that cleaned our room. Ja_ _. : ), where two phenomenal in the way they interact with the guest, at least my husband and I thought so. We are very picky about where we stay, and if Homestead Studio Suites continue to make changes, or keep their present standards, YES! We would stay again, and again, and again!!

Room Tip: room 110. : ) Room on the first floor if you are not a smoker. Our room was facing the a wooded ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brish0213, Owner at Extended Stay America - North Chesterfield - Arboretum, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
: I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Homestead Richmond - Midlothian . Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. We strive to provide a "home away from home" experience for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you, and we are truly honored for your recognition.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed here for several weeks. My room was so dirty my socks turned black walking around the room. Worse than this was the Fly infestation and having to spray my room every single day to kill them all, having themland in my face, etc. The carpet in the hallway was so dirty that I actually thought about paying to have the hallway cleaned myself. Worse however was the morning I headed off to work and when I opened my door to head down the hallway, there was dog crap all the way down the hallway.

Cheap is Cheap, BUT NASTY IS NASTY and I would never stay here again....

Nasty....

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brish0213, Owner at Extended Stay America - North Chesterfield - Arboretum, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
: Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Homestead Richmond - Midlothian . Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

Please know that we have strict quality control standards that are meant to prevent an unacceptable situation like yours from occurring. All our common areas and rooms are regularly cleaned and disinfected upon a guest's checkout as well as during applicable periods of the stay, then inspected by a manager who determines if it meets our quality standards. Obviously, your experience indicates that our system broke down. In response, I have met with hotel management and staff to find out why and to determine a system for preventing a repeat occurrence.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Avoid. Not terrible but I would avoid. I felt a little unsafe there. The location was convenient but the nearby Hyatt Pace would have been a better choice for a business woman traveling alone. It had friendly staff in the lobby as opposed to a weird lonely guy at the desk at the Homestead Studio Sites, and a nice breakfast, plus a selection of attractive, edible food available at any hour

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - North Chesterfield - Arboretum, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
I recently received a copy of your review for our hotel. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

I am grateful for this opportunity to respond to your remarks. Please believe that our hotel has a firm commitment to professional and warm guest service. We strive to teach our staff to be appropriate in both appearance, in addition to our hotels appearance. Clearly, there was a break down in our training in your situation, so I have brought your concerns directly to the attention of each of our employees so that we can prevent a recurrence of the incident you had.

Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Hotel was in a convenient location for our needs. I would have gladly given a higher rating except our daughter had left behind an item in the room and after several calls, including one call which seemed they had the item, after two more calls on our behalf to follow up we were told they did not have the item. We found this VERY disappointing and upsetting since we know the item was left there. Unfortunately, they have lost any future business from us.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Extended Stay America - North Chesterfield - Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - North Chesterfield - Arboretum

Address: 241 Arboretum Place, Richmond, VA 23236 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites - Richmond - Midlothian)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 81 hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Extended Stay America - North Chesterfield - Arboretum 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Extended Stay, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - North Chesterfield - Arboretum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Studio Suites Richmond / Midlothian Hotel Richmond
Extended Stay America Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - North Chesterfield - Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.