We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas style dining is the best! Emilio's Short Pump, VA location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emilio's Tapas y Paella

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Emilio's Tapas y Paella
200 Towne Center West Blvd #601, Richmond, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #678 of 1,275 restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Spanish
Description: The resturant has been in existence for about 3 years.
Restaurant details
Description: The resturant has been in existence for about 3 years.
VA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tapas style dining is the best! Emilio's Short Pump, VA location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Love tapas and Emilio's is such a nice restaurant to have close to our rural area of Montpelier, VA.
It's fun to try so many different things and chat with friends while dining this way. Favs are the pork skewers, serrano wrapped dates and the chorizo empanadas. It is an easy, comfy atmosphere, good coffee and we really enjoy it. Have brought several friends there who had not had a tapas style dinner and they both loved it too! My only constructive criticism would be slightly more consistent waiter service and attention to detail when waiting on customers. I don't expect heavy service-but it was not super duper. I am easy going about that but others may not be. I will definitely return frequently!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

58% Recommend
    2
    5
    1
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“bland Spanish food!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This place is terrible, the service is Lacking to say the least And the food is very bland, paellas are just as bland, is like the cooks forget to use salt and pepper on the food. Don't waste your time coming here. Europa Tapas bar on shockoe bottom is way better for tapas and paellas. The only thing authentic Emilio's have is the name.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wasn't what we expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We frequent the south side Emilios and love it! The one in the Short Pump area was not what we were hoping for . . . . Same menu as the south side one but different cook. Ordered our usual pitcher of sangria, wasn't as sweet as it is at the south side location. Didn't come with all the fruits on the glass that we are used to getting. We got one slice of lemon and one slice of lime on the pitcher itself and one cherry in our glass. Ordered the small size of patatas johnny and gambas aioli, our usual dishes we love to consume and decided to try the paella mariscos too. The patatas johnny were awesome! potatoes were crispy and sauce was delicious. The gambas were okay, the sauce was a little too lemony in flavor. Used to getting a bunch of garlic and red pepper in it (love to sop the sauce with the bread) but didn't come that way this time. The paella we definitely won't order again. It was half price paella night and wonder if we got half the seafood items because it was half price. Regular price was 18.50, if we had to pay that for the dish we would have been REAL disappointed. We counted 2 shrimp, 4 clams, about 6 mussels, and a sprinkle of calamari. It was LOADED with green and red peppers and green beans. The rice was mushy, pastey and wet. When we got our bill, we realized that even though we ordered the small size tapas we were served and ate the large size tapas. What a convenient way for our bill to be jacked up so the server could make a little more money. Needless to say we won't be back to the west end/ short pump location again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Authentic Spanish flavor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

Nice layout and welcoming feel. Emilio, the Chef, is from Valencia Spain and has done a great job recreating the Spanish cuisine. The tortilla is just like I remember it and the arroz ivanno was delicious. Too bad I didn't have time for the Paella which I'm sure would be worth the wait.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Snowy Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Chef was late coming in due to the inclement weather but well worth the wait. Food was wonderful. The atmosphere of the restaurant was a little to be desired but the food made up for it.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emilio's Tapas y Paella also viewed

 

Been to Emilio's Tapas y Paella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emilio's Tapas y Paella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.