We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sprout - A Localvore Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sprout - A Localvore Restaurant & Bar
1 N. Morris St., Richmond, VA 23220
(804) 592-5771
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Main St.
Description: Sprout is a proud member of the localvore movement in Richmond VA, serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner six days a week. Localvore is the diet of eating locally, and Sprout is committed to dealing direct with the farmers, growers, tofu makers, artisans, etc. that provide the food we serve. You can always rely on Sprout to serve up a menu of over 90% locally sourced ingredients, and feel confident that your dollars are being reinvested right back here in your local Virginia economy.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

S@mple is very sheik and modern with a wide variety of plates (small and large) to try. I've had a variety of dishes and they are all delicious. Adam the owner has done a phenomenal job with the renovations. What a great place to go for lunch or dinner if you are going to see a show at the Landmark Theater. It is also just across the street from VCU and does offer parking beside the restaurant. Love it!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A Must Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

The braised pork, black-eyed peas and stewed tomatoes appetizer is an amazing mixture of flavors. Another must-try is the Scotch Bonnet Pepper martini.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Convenient To Landmark Theater and VCU”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Having parked at the parking deck for the Landmark, where we had tickets for the "Lion King", we were not sure what to expect at Richmond's first "Tech" restaurant and bar but were prepared for a new experience. Sparsely furnished in a palette of black, grey and white, with metal tables and chairs, and a concrete floor, it felt clinical. But the waitress was friendly and helpful as she explained the concept of ordering a selection of plates to share. In fact her caring attitude saved the whole experience. My husband ordered the ribeye steak with pommes dauphinoise and was well pleased, except for the spiciness of the potatoes. I tasted one, and it was so spicy it seared my tastebuds. I ordered the red snapper oscar. This was a hunk of fish so salty it was inedible, and so rubbery I could not cut it even with a knife. The waitress apologized and returned it to the kitchen. This left me watching my husband eat, so I was pleasantly surprised when she brought me a plate of empanadas to sample "on the house" while I waited. My replacement dish of monk fish looked suspiciously the same as the red snapper, but at least this time it was edible. The accompanying asparagus was crisp and tender. In a curious twist we had ordered a side of brussels sprouts which were served as an appetizer - an interesting accompaniment to glasses of white wine. Once we lost the daylight from the windows the lighting was so inadequate we had to use a flashlight to read the check. There was also inadequate lighting on the black steps leading to a black floor to and from the restrooms. The service could not be faulted. If you enjoy over spiced, over salted food this is the place for you, but for us it was not worth the money. It is, however, convenient to the Landmark.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Amazing atmosphere and the food was out of this world! Service was very friendly and hospitable too. Great opening weekend experience and I look forward to more in the future!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Sprout, Sprout, Let It All Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

These are the greens I've been dreaming about! So come on. I'm talkin' to you. Come on.

Following an evening event, we decided to seek out Sprout while we were out and about. We were greeted inside the door by friendly, albeit hip young restaurateurs. The decor was as you would expect from a new trendy localvore restaurant. Some unexpected features included beautiful stained glass windows, gold toned tin ceiling, and a delightful sprig of Rosemary as the table greenery.

The service was pleasant and attentive, especially considering having been seated only 15 minutes before the kitchen was to close. We ordered a sausage and cheddar pizzetta with lovely fresh greens resting on top, and Rosemary marinated steak with sauteed greens and polenta frites. They were both clean & wholesome tasting, and were absolutely delicious. The portions were a little on the light side, but the overall the value and quality of the meals were superb.

There was a live band about to play in a separate back room as we were finishing our meal. We decided not to linger too long, as the music was a good decade younger than our age bracket. :)

What a wonderful experience Sprout was to two passionate and conscious diners, who are often disappointed by the scarcity of restaurants that offer quality, nourishing ingredients with a commitment to support local food production. We will definitely be returning, but earlier in the evening next time.

Sprout will definitely be recommended to friends and family!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sprout - A Localvore Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sprout - A Localvore Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.