We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and delicious donuts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Style Doughnuts

Country Style Doughnuts
4300 Williamsburg Road, Richmond, VA 23231
(804) 222-2466
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1,410 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Donuts
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious donuts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I have spent the last 25 years buying donuts at Country Style. Even though I currently don't live in Richmond I buy donuts there every time I'm home for a visit. I am looking forward to the day I live there again and can stop in at my favorite donut shop anytime!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    14
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“WOW! Did not disappoint!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My son and I stopped by here today, after seeing how high it ranked on the restaurants in the area. When we first pulled in the parking lot I was amazed how many cars there were -- it was just about lunch time! Upon entering, its like stepping back in time to the early 1970s bakeries I grew up with in NYC. Not the cleanest place, but kind of cute. Even at noon, there were still a decent amount of variety left -- we chose 2 simple glazed donuts, a bag of 12 donut holes to share with Dad back home, a chocolate milk and a soda -- all for $6.50. Pretty good bargain I thought. These donuts are HUGE!!! We could have had one and split it -- but Oh My Goodness, they were really delicious!! We decided that they may have even been on the beginning of getting stale -- and still we devoured them!! They were messy, finger-licking awesome!! There is a small window to watch the donut maker, which was fun also. I think in another area, with a cleaner store -- this place could be simply Amazing!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is our new favorite place!!! Doughnuts are wonderful and the prices are competitive. Rumor has it that they are opening another shop on the West End.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg, Indiana
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Old school donut shop with better than average donuts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I love our donuts, so when on vacation, we usually stop a few places for a sampling of local product. Country Style Doughnuts turned out to be a good, but not quite great, donut stop on our recent trip. The donuts are huge and very tasty, but not quite as light as I usually like. They were fairly dense and heavy. The shop itself is nothing to look at -- it could use a fresh coat of paint and some general cleaning, but it did have an old school coffee shop ambiance. If in the area, we would stop again, but I wouldn't say it's the best donut in the world.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Heights, Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best donuts ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Skip the big chains. This place makes the best donuts on earth, possibly even beyond. Service with a smile, reasonable prices, this is the whole package. I wish there was one closer to Colonial Heights, the drive to the east end is long. But it is so worth it, I never get my donut fix anywhere else. If you buy donuts based on flavor and quality, you get em here. I've been getting my donuts here for 25 years. If you want to do what everyone says is "cool," you go right on back to those other 2 places.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Country Style Doughnuts also viewed

 

Been to Country Style Doughnuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Style Doughnuts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.