We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garnett's Cafe

Garnett's Cafe
2001 Park Ave, Richmond, VA
804-367-7909
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 1,304 Restaurants in Richmond
Restaurant details
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Cute cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Garnett's is a cute neighborhood cafe tucked into a pretty neighborhood. The menu offers a wide selection of sandwiches and a few salad selections (with homemade salad dressings). The cafe offers daily specials of homemade soups, and a selection of 2-3 homemade pies and cakes for dessert. I recommend the mint lemonade and croque monsieur. Dessert is always delicious. Good place for lunch or a very casual, inexpensive dinner. It's a small corner cafe, so ideal for parties of 2-4 but probably not comfortable for a larger group.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“These sandwiches are the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Garnett's is a tiny, picturesque sliver of a restaurant in Richmond's Fan District. If you have to wait for a table, do it -- you won't be disappointed. A bountiful selection of delicious sandwich combinations is available, and the sides are excellent as well. It's far, far above run-of-the-mill restaurant/fast-food sandwich menus. Date night and picnic options are available, as are gluten-free ingredients and fresh-baked desserts. This is one place you'd be happy to eat your way through the menu! We look forward to returning again and again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Good food, casual atmosphere, good food, friendly service and gluten free! Great neighborhood and available street parking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Both sandwiches were fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My boyfriend really enjoyed his 2 hearted ipa and huge turkey sandwich with jalapenos. It had great bread and was served with a healthy portion kettle style chips. But what we both had our eyes on was my BBLT. My BLT with a cream cheese spread. It's not something I'm familar with but boy was it great with that super thick bacon on my favorite- cibatta. I really enjoyed the side of black eyed peas-I really like these but they aren't offered often. The Sav blanc I had was exactly what you'd hope for in one. The service was good and the space was super cute. I would recommend bringing a sweater in these colder months. It's a small space with no buffer between you and the door. I highly recommend!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great sandwich shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Unusual little restaurant tucked in the trendy Fan area of Richmond.

Expect the unexpected at Garnett's. You won't find big meals here, it's a true sandwich shop. What you can find is Croque Monsier's and the like, specialty sodas and a glass of wine or two. Good cheese plates and other desserts made fresh.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garnett's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Garnett's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garnett's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.