We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice one night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5406 Glenside Drive, Richmond, VA 23228   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice one night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

My family and I stayed one night on our way back from the beach. Having read the reviews before booking, I was not surprised by the breakfast offerings and we made plans ahead of time to eat elsewhere prior to getting on the road. Nice location and easy access to get back to the interstate.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    62
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
84
50
16
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hampton/Glenside this past weekend for a family get together in Richmond. It was very welcoming and clean. The rooms are very clean, beds are comfortable, and bathrooms are spacious. Breakfast was OK if you just want the basics--yougurt, bananas, apples, cereal, breads and pastries, and waffles. The premade western omelet was OK. Great coffee ! This was probably an oversight, but our room was not made up with clean towels, etc. after our first night. We didn't leave until around 11 a.m. for the day on Saturday and returned late in the evening. The front desk gave us fresh towels. Even though it was a cloudy, rainy weekend, the hotel has a small, nice outdoor pool. Many other hotels in the area have an indoor pool only.

Room Tip: Staying on the first floor was nice because of proximity to exercise room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stayed at this Hampton Inn this past weekend to attend a friend wedding held at the Westin. Upon entering the hotel, I immediately noticed how clean the reception/lobby area was. When I obtained my key, I asked the desk clerk about late check-out for Sunday (12 noon). She informed me it should not be a problem and to touch basis with her Sunday morning. My room was on the 2nd floor and I absolutely loved the decor of the hallways and the doors to the room. I was surprised at how you enter the room (you don't insert your key, you hold it up to a sensor and the door opens), but I figured it out. Would be helpful for the desk clerk to explain that, but it was no big deal. I had the King size room and it was just right for me! The bathroom was clean, the refrigerator was cold, which is unusual for a small refrigerator in hotel rooms. The bathroom was big and I loved the little nook with the coffee maker and towels! The breakfast was ok...I would recommend putting meat on the menu (sausage/bacon), but it will do if you don't want to eat a lot. Of course, there are plenty of eating places close by if you choose not to eat breakfast downstairs. I went down a little after 8 a.m. and it was not crowded.
On Sunday morning, I called down to ask about checking out at noon and the lady remembered me and said it was no problem and she would make note of it. Thank you! I was able to go back to my room and just relax for the next 3 hrs after eating breakfast.

I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend this to others looking for a decent rate hotel with great service and clean rooms.

Room Tip: Request a room on either the 3rd or 4th floor....away from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit Hill, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My family stayed at this Hotel last week for my Uncle's funeral. We had family from VA, PA, IN, KS and DC. The hotel was extremely clean, close to many things, and had very reasonable rates. The breakfast was delicious each morning with many options. The manager's reception on Monday night offered great snacks and free beverages. The staff went far above to make my family comfortable during this difficult time. They even offered the breakfast common room to our family for several gatherings. Special thanks to Antwan for his help and kindness he showed to our entire family. I always have been a Hampton Inn fan. After this trip, I would never consider staying anywhere else! I reccomend this hotel to anyone staying in the Richmond area. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: The rooms ending in #19 right off the elevator are larger. they are handicapped accessible. Also the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Great hotel, staff friendly and helpful. Morning 6-10 am) was good but but standard. Hotel central to Richmond Amtrak station. If traveling by train I would pick this place again. Several places to eat, within walking distance.

Room Tip: If traveling by train/Amtrak great place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed at this Hampton Inn for 3 nights in early May while touring Richmond and the surrounding area. We LOVED the location, since we were close to many places at which to eat and shop. We were able to easily get to the city and the many other sites that we visited. The room was clean and the breakfast was good. The hotel is quite new and the staff was friendly. The only thing I missed were the warm cookies upon arrival; I was told that they are only served on the busiest days of the week. All -in- all this Hampton provided a relaxing hotel at which to spend a long weekend.

Room Tip: Be sure that you ask which rooms include the mini frig and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear PensandSteelers:
Thank you for your kind words! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at our beautifful Hampton Inn & Suites! All of our guests will be happy to know that since your stay we have added refrigerators and microwaves to the standard king rooms, so that now ALL of our rooms come equipped with an amenity so many guests have been requesting! As for cookies, I am sorry it was explained to you that way - the fact is that we do bake up batches of fresh cookies as part of our weekday "cookie & punch" reception, We hope to be of service again on your next visit to Richmond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. Staff were very welcoming, check in fast and efficient. Rooms very modern and clean. Beds comfy and linens/towels and amenities of very good quality.

Breakfast was very good, waffles and hot items included as well as the usual cereal, fruit, yogurt and pastries. Area spacious, clean and well supervised.

Location was excellent with lots of restaurants and shops nearby.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay again if we are ever back in Richmond

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside

Address: 5406 Glenside Drive, Richmond, VA 23228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Richmond
#3 Family Hotel in Richmond
#4 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of the metro Richmond Virginia region, the Hampton Inn and Suites Richmond/Glenside hotel offers easy access to popular cultural, sporting and entertainment attractions. Spend a day at the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts or the Museum of the Confederacy- all within five miles of our Richmond, VA hotel. Enjoy boating, canoeing, water skiing and fishing at the James and Appomattox rivers or thrilling rides at the Kings Dominion theme park. View exciting races at Richmond International Raceway or enjoy an extensive shopping experience at Stony Point Fashion Park.Unwind at the Hampton Inn and Suites Richmond/Glenside hotel with everything you need for a great stay. Relax in a comfortable guest room complete with thoughtful amenities to help make you feel at home. Enjoy over sixty high-def channels on a 37-inch flat screen HD TV. Stay connected with free high-speed internet access and enjoy a restful sleep on a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Upgrade to a spacious suite and stretch out and relax on a king-size bed. Start the day right and join us for a Hampton’s free hot breakfast or have breakfast on the move and grab one of our Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday. Stay active during your stay in the fitness center or rejuvenate with a swim in the pool. Keep in touch with work in the business center and hold your next meeting in our corporate meeting and training facility accommodating up to 80 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Richmond/Glenside
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside Hotel Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.