We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest New Hampton I Have Been In” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5406 Glenside Drive, Richmond, VA 23228   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Richmond, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Nicest New Hampton I Have Been In”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

As a very frequent business traveler, you become expectant of certain qualities in a chain that you do not want to change. Hampton has been doing some decor changes for the last couple of years on their new properties all of which I find for the better while the core room, bed, breakfast and service remain unchanged. This new Hampton has taken the new decor into a newer carpet scheme and lobby. I LOVED IT!

This property is one that adds a few extras that I wish were standard such as mouthwash. The workout facility has just 2 treads but of decent quality along with free weights, fitballs, an elliptical and bike. The pool was nice but outside.

In my semi-frequent trips to this area of Richmond, I am elated to see this property and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    73
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
104
59
20
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bradfordwoods, PA
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed at the Hampton Inn/Glenside for 2 nights while visiting colleges in the Richmond area. This Hampton Inn was very convenient for visiting Univ. of Richmond (about 5 minutes away), College of Wm. & Mary (1 hour to the east) and UVA (1 hour 15 min to west). The hotel seemed very new and well-appointed. Large comfortable room with 2 queens, clean upscale bathroom with a great shower, large flat-screen TV; comfortable beds and lots of great pillows; complimentary hot breakfast; modern lobby. Check-in was easy and employees very courteous, friendly and helpful making suggestions of where to dine and providing us with several detailed maps of the area. Our room on the 3rd floor was very quiet, and check-out was automatic and flawless. What more could you ask for $116/night? Will definitely return to Hampton Inn on our next trip to Richmond.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed here just one night with our son and daughter-in-law while visiting friends in Richmond. What a clean, new and perfect spot for us all. I can't think of a single 'negative' about this hotel. The room was clean and spacious, the hotel quiet and the breakfast great. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone needing a place to stay in the Glenside section of Richmond.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I loved this brand new hotel with brand new decor. I loved everything about the room and the bed was so comfy. Free hot breakfast with enough variety for everyone. Pool is small but I was there on business so didn't have much use for it. Location was also perfect. There is nothing else to say but I hope my job sends me back that way soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

It's hard to find anything wrong with this fairly new Hampton hotel. We stayed here on our way back from a beach vacation trip in NC, and we were really impressed. The hotel was immaculate, the outdoor pool was great, the rooms were super clean, the beds were incredibly comfortable, and the free hot breakfast was top notch. We hated to leave this hotel. And, it was a great value to boot. Thanks Hampton for making our stay such a wonderful experience. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

First trip to Richmond - a bit surprised how far north of town this is, but hopping on nearby I-64 it's less than a 10-min easy drive. But this is a lovely hotel - very new, quiet, beautiful appointments, excellent service, full hot breakfasts. We had a king suite which was one of the largest hotel rooms we've ever seen. An exceptionally pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Call for AARP rate, stay 3 nites for discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We were visitin Richmond on a more sorrow note, my aunts daughter passed away. Never stay in Richmond Hotels before so did alot of searching before booking hotel room. My aunt had warn us to stay away from Uptown due to high prices. I knew the Hampton Inn for alot of good amenties and had stay at one near the Navy Base in Sept 2010. Both visits were outstanding. I have never became a member, because I dont think Im going to stay at an Hampton Inn when I am looking for a hotel, but I may just have to after these last 2 visits to Hampton Inns. I did have 2 bad experiences with Hampton Inn in the past, one in Virginia Beach, Va and the other in Linden NJ. These last 2 visit to Hampton Inn were outstanding and if I visit Richmond again this is were I will be staying. Thanks for having such a beautiful hotel. Our room was on the side of the Interstate and the little noise we heard didnt bother us at all. I did read on this site about the noise from I-95 bother somebodys family, but we couldnt tell and slept so peaceful in those comfortable beds. The hot breakfast was great!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside

Address: 5406 Glenside Drive, Richmond, VA 23228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Richmond
#2 Business Hotel in Richmond
#3 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of the metro Richmond Virginia region, the Hampton Inn and Suites Richmond/Glenside hotel offers easy access to popular cultural, sporting and entertainment attractions. Spend a day at the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts or the Museum of the Confederacy- all within five miles of our Richmond, VA hotel. Enjoy boating, canoeing, water skiing and fishing at the James and Appomattox rivers or thrilling rides at the Kings Dominion theme park. View exciting races at Richmond International Raceway or enjoy an extensive shopping experience at Stony Point Fashion Park.Unwind at the Hampton Inn and Suites Richmond/Glenside hotel with everything you need for a great stay. Relax in a comfortable guest room complete with thoughtful amenities to help make you feel at home. Enjoy over sixty high-def channels on a 37-inch flat screen HD TV. Stay connected with free high-speed internet access and enjoy a restful sleep on a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Upgrade to a spacious suite and stretch out and relax on a king-size bed. Start the day right and join us for a Hampton’s free hot breakfast or have breakfast on the move and grab one of our Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday. Stay active during your stay in the fitness center or rejuvenate with a swim in the pool. Keep in touch with work in the business center and hold your next meeting in our corporate meeting and training facility accommodating up to 80 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Richmond/Glenside
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside Hotel Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.