We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greek Cuisine

Greek Cuisine
3107 W Cary St, Richmond, VA 23221
+1 804-257-7277
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 1,379 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $7 - $11
Cuisines: Greek
Description: Formerly Basilis Greek Restaurant/Greek Cuisine. Family operated business, bringing homemade authentic Greek food to Richmond.
Restaurant details
Description: Formerly Basilis Greek Restaurant/Greek Cuisine. Family operated business, bringing homemade authentic Greek food to Richmond.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Always a great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I try to eat here on at least a monthly basis. The inside is a bit cramped and not the best looking, but the awesome food more than makes up for it. I typically get the gyro and my wife gets the souvlaki, and they both are fantastic. With a combo, instead of fries you can get the soup, which I highly recommend. The desserts are excellent, too. The wait staff are very friendly and the service is fast. I can't say enough good things about this place! Go, go!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    17
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Dry lamb on our gyros. Fries were soggy like they have been sitting under a heat lamp. Asked for mayo and it was discolored. There is actually a sign asking you clean your own table.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Not fancy, but great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a variety of appetizers and the food was wonderful. The owner served us and even brought us over another small dish for us to try!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“New Addiction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Greek cuisine 2 just opened up out by me and I can't get enough! It is run by his wife and she is fantastic. The gyros are the best I have ever had! The hummus plater is perfection and the baklava..... Well, it will make your day! I have gotten take out twice this week and don't see that changing. Greek food has now made it into my top 3 of favorite foods!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Yum! A great choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Greek Cuisine is one of the many interesting eating options that can be found in Carytown. My wife and I chose GC after taking a quick stroll through the neighborhood where we checked out some of the cool second hand stores, sidewalk musicians, and bike shops. Shout out to Carytown - this neighborhood is awesome and definitely deserves a visit!

I ordered a Gyro sandwich and my wife noshed on a greek salad with chicken - both were outstanding! Unfortunately we didn't have room left for any baklava or tiramisu - they looked good! Friendly staff.

I wasn't surprised to see a bunch of other reviewers who enjoyed their experience here - I think you will too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Greek Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greek Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.