We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of F.W. Sullivan's

F.W. Sullivan's
2401 West Main Street, Richmond, VA
(804)308-8576
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #868 of 1,410 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

We randomly picked Sullivan's one afternoon for lunch. It was early so the service was okay. There was only one waiter/bartender and one cook so I imagine the wait could get long if there had been more than a few customers. My husband and I both had the tomato basil soup and the small salad with added grilled chicken. The soup was good and the salad was fresh. My husband said his chicken was good but I didn't eat mine because it had a funny fishy taste. I was surprised that the waiter passed by our table a couple times and could clearly see I didn't eat the chicken but never bothered to ask why. In fairness I didn't say anything about it because we were in a hurry and didn't have time to wait for them to cook another piece anyway. The interior is total bar feel, one long bar, a row of high tops and a row of uncomfortably close booths. Overall okay.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    3
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

We went to F.W. Sullivan's and had such a great time that we return about five days later. This is a really cool old-fashioned bar in an area called “The Fan” and there happy hour food and drinks are off the hook. They pour a real drink, and have fantastic appetizers. The service was excellent, the crowd was a cool mixture of coeds and middle agers and the outside patio is perfect for warm nights.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Service absolutely sucks, and food is mediocre. Go elsewhere.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The service at this place is absolutely abysmal. I have repeatedly given this place (the Haxall location) additional chances, and have continuously been disappointed. The service is so bad, it's almost contemptuous. I have waited forever for my food to come, I have had waiters dump plates off on our table and run away without returning (while I had to go to the hostess stand and dig out silverware for me and my friend), and I have had bartenders stare at me for 15+ minutes (when the place was totally empty) without ever asking me if I wanted something to drink. On top of everything, the menu looks fantastic on its face, but, in reality, the food is fairly bland - absolutely not worth putting up with their horrific service. There are many fantastic restaurants in the Richmond area, so please, please, do not waste your time here. The owner hasn't a freaking clue about how to run a restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cool place, service ehhhh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Food isn't bad.. The place is in a good location and the restaurant itself has good seating inside or out. The servers here are questionable... One young blonde girl I've had was really attentive. Others seem half drunk.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Stone, Virginia, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A long lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

F.W. Sullivan's new location on the canal in downtown Richmond opened about three months ago. I recently met two partners there for lunch. We were promptly seated and our drink orders taken. Shortly thereafter our lunch orders were taken, two club sandwiches and a tuna melt. FORTY minutes later the sandwiches arrived. The tuna melt was OK but the club sandwiches had been sitting for awhile as the toasted bread was very cold. They also had run out of coleslaw! While the prices are reasonable the kitchen and wait staff need some serious work.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed F.W. Sullivan's also viewed

 

Been to F.W. Sullivan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage F.W. Sullivan's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.