We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Napoli Pizza Oven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stuzzi

Stuzzi
1 North Belmont Avenue, Richmond, VA 23221
804-308-3294
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Stuzzi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #377 of 1,380 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Dining style: Casual Dining
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A Real Napoli Pizza Oven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I spent fair amount of time in Naples and was excited to try Stuzzi. Just a few blocks from the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, the restaurant has its own parking lot (visitor parking is really tight in this area). The place was busy at lunch time with a steady stream of customers - couples, families, and friends. The oven was exactly like the ones in Naples - wood burning in the back and super hot. We ordered a particularly full pizza with mozzarella de bufala and vegetables. Because the pizza cooks very fast, the waitress warned us that it would be soggy because of all the moisture. It was delicious! The price was very reasonable. We'll be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    31
    15
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Western PA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good food and fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is a great little Italian restaurant. The food is very, very good. Can get a great pizza or a great entree. There were some creative pasta dishes and other items that were the evening's specials. The place, at least on a Friday evening, was super busy so go early or go late. It is not real big, and there is not much space inside to wait which can be problematic if it is cold outside. Also, this is like your local friendly restaurant so, if you are looking for quiet and something more upscale, this is not the place. Would definitely be my dinner choice the next time I am in Richmond.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“NOT Gluten free”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I visited with friends and, while my food was good, the overall experience was terrible. We went here specifically because my friend he's celiacs disease and they advertised as having gluten free items.

Here's the basics:
-advertises gluten free but prepares food on same surface as everything else
-when questioned on preparation, manager became defensive and refused to have cooks clean surface or change gloves
-when asked to speak to the owner, he started he was too busy (He was going from table to table greeting other customers)

The only reason we knew about the preparation problem was because my friends was sitTing at the counter whet they prepared the pizza. I fear for how they prepare items not in view.

This place should NOT be advertising itself as gluten free. Someone, if they haven't already, will get very sick if they continue preparing the food like they did.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“BOYCOTT!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The owner of this place refused to accommodate a gluten allergy in our party, despite the fact that they advertise gluten-free food. He also berated his staff and refused to answer any questions. Don't even bother with this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Italian Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

On a visit to the Virginia Museum of Fine Art, my husband and I wanted to try a cozy restaurant for lunch that was within walking distance. Our first and closest choice was not open for lunch, only dinner, but that error on our part turned out to benefit us greatly. We searched on his phone and found Stuzzi on North Belmont. Stuzzi was a culinary find for a delicious meal and a very pleasant dining experience. Our waitress was extremely helpful with the menu and attentive to our needs without being overly so. We started with the calamari fritta appetizer. The very light coating on the calamari seemed to magically melt in our mouths. The sauce was just icing on the cake! That coating complimented the light taste of the calamari perfectly. We both selected the bomba specialties; mine was The Bomba and my husband had the Stuzzi. Both were melt in our mouths delicious and the flavors with the fresh veggies added to an excellent lunch experience. Dessert? Sorry, we were stuffed. The owner chatted with us before we left about our dining experience and how it was. In a word: fantastic! Our only regret about Stuzzi is that we don’t live in Richmond but we will be going there when we visit the VMFA. Lucky Richmond people who live near there! We’ll definitely be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stuzzi also viewed

 

Been to Stuzzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stuzzi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.