We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Try” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Sheep

The Black Sheep
901 W Marshall St, Richmond, VA 23220-3824
804-648-1300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 1,410 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“A Must Try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Everytime I visit it is so difficult to choose what I want to try next. The menu a foodies dream. Venture out, you will be rewarded with one of the best in Richmond, if not THE best.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    41
    13
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“How in the world can I eat all of that?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

So good. From brunch to the monster sandwich's at lunch/dinner-This place will have you feeling full and satisfied. It's small so be prepared to wait...but the wait is worth it. They have a back patio for you to wait and get drinks. ;)
Love it.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
1 review
“Penutbutter heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

It was a great experience worth doing...but the sandwich isn't enough...dessert is a mandatory if ur a penut lover like me....get the penutbutter pie...it's to die for...I totally forgot all about my sandwich after one small taste

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Unique little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Living in the suburbs of Richmond, my husband and I went downtown to see why the CSS Virginia was called the best sandwich in the Mid-Atlantic. I was a little worried about the sandwich since I don't like liver, however, the bread was wonderful and the apple slaw was a great compliment to the fried chicken livers. The best part of the meal though was the peanut butter pie for dessert. We had great service as well in this unique little restaurant. We will be back to try out the other "battleships".

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Unique and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Had a lovely breakfast here. The menu is varied, unique and freshly prepared. The portions are very ample. Quiet this morning, but at times when full, can be a tad noisy. Coffee was excellent as was the chocolate brûlée.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Sheep also viewed

 

Been to The Black Sheep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Sheep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.