We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleek” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lehja

Lehja
11800 W Broad Street, Suite 910, Richmond, VA
804-364-1111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lehja is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 1,304 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $31
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Located inside the Town Center underneath Hotel Hyatt House
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Sleek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Lehja is a very pleasant restaurant with a sophisitcated feel, but also welcoming and calm. It is a great place for conversation with friends, and a sleek spot for a date. Once you are inside Lehja, you can easily forget that a shopping mall is right outside the door.
Much has been said about the food. I will add that, on several trips over a span of time, I have always had attentive & informative service, and food that delights the tastebuds. Last night we started with Firecracker Chicken Tikka and Shiitake-Leek Tikki. Both were excellent.
For my entree I selected Paneer-Asparagus Labadaar, and it was tailored to my taste (extra-hot). I felt like a sleuth trying to track down the asparagus, but the flavors were rich & complex, and that's what I love about great Indian food. Lehja cooks up its own twist on Indian fare, which may be a reason for the name; according to an interview with a managing partner, Lehja means "style" or "accent."
The portions are adequate to modest. I'd say, given the quality of food, service, and atmosphere, you get what you pay for and you pay for what you get.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    20
    8
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Best Indian food I have eaten in 10 Years!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We found an old article in the Richmond Magazine about Lehja's and decided to try it out since we don't have a really good Indian restaurant in our town of Cocoa Beach, FL.

We picked the perfect place. The decor and atmosphere were very trendy and modern...the staff greeted us warmly and were very informative.

We ordered the Firecracker chicken appetizer and asked for it to be hot (spicy) rather than mild or medium. The waiter told us that it is quite hot...but that is how I like it. The manager came out with the order and told us about the pepper (rated one of the hottest in the world) was used to make the sauce. The chicken morsel were set on a light mango sauce. The chicken was incredibly moist and tender and, yes, hot.....but incredibly tasty. The heat of the pepper did not take away from the other flavors...it was well balanced.

My partner ordered the Kerala seafood curry for his meal which came with a salad. Plenty of seafood and a delicate curry sauce served in a bowl with a plate of rice. It was delightful.

I ordered the lamb (though lamb is not my favorite meat....too strong in flavor)....now I have to admit that I like lamb.....cooked by the chef's at Lehja!!! The red sauce infused and surrounding the lamb made my palate ask for more and more. It came with Lentil soup which was also good to the very last drop.

The manager was a delight and told us about his family and the other Lehja restaurants (2 others).......and that they were celebrating their anniversary of (can't remember) many years. We felt like part of the family.

This place is a definite spot that we will return to every time we come to Richmond.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We just did not have a good experience at this place. I am not sure if it was that one day as I see a lot of people are raving about the food there. The food lacked the most basic seasoning which was salt, I believe a chef should know how to season the food with the most essential ingredient. Apart from that the waiter was way too pushy in asking us to order specials. Three of us sat down and we weren't given time alone to think before he came over a few times asking if we were ready. I can understand if the restaurant was busy, but there was hardly anybody there. The food was expensive, which is fine I am willing to pay the money if you are willing to deliver the food. I would not recommend this place for Indian food. There are many around in the Richmond area who offer better food for decent price.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamont, TN
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“From an Indian Aficianado... Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My British husband and I LOVE Indian food, and we travel a LOT, so we always try out new places everywhere we go. We were delighted to discover this restaurant right next door to the Hyatt Place Hotel in Short Pump, VA where we had just arrived for a week's stay, and headed over as soon as we checked in. Modern, clean-lined, though not much privacy between tables, and therefore a bit noisy, but it was easy to forget that as we enjoyed some of the best naan and chapati we've had in a long time. Hubby's lamb curry was cooked to perfection and just right with medium spice (though it may come across as spicy to the uninitiated), and my lamb dish was also delicious, the meat practically melting in my mouth, almost no chewing required!! Service was present and attentive when we needed it, invisible when we didn't, a very nice balance. Well done, and highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook Island, South Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This restaurant doesn't offer the classic Indian menu - they've created their own formula, and it works. For appetizers, we ate spinach chaat, chicken tikka and persuaded the server to give us an appetizer portion of the chef's signature fig-ginger kofta, which was outstanding. For entrees, we ate shrimp patia and goat curry, very different and both delightful. Kulfi with a house gulabjabam finished the meal. Both the server and owner were constantly attentive, answering questions and listening to comments with interest - they're proud of what they create, and it shows.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lehja also viewed

 

Been to Lehja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lehja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.