We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ProfLescota” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump to your Saves list
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12042 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23233   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #2 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
GreenLeadersSilver level
Midland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“ProfLescota”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Room is comfortable and clean. Front desk Staff friendly and attentive. If you enjoy room service, this isn't the place. Call down for service and you would think you're in a cheap hotel in Jersey. Brusque is the word. When the food is delivered (had it twice) two different delivery staff members dropped the tray on the desk and couldn't wait to leave fast enough.

No offer to set food out or unwrap or pour
..just sign and bye. Food prices were high compared to the taste. I live in the south and I expect and demand southern hospitality. Sorry Hilton but you didn't deliver.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear ProfLescota,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We deeply apologize that your dining expectations were not met during your recent visit to the Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa. I can appreciate your frustration at being unable to fine dining service in the comfort of your room. I do apologize for this inconsistency and although you are disappointed I would like to encourage you to visit Hilton Richmond during your next visit so that we can make it up to you.

Meanwhile, feel free to contact the hotel directly and ask for me personally if you would like to discuss your visit further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    104
    40
    16
    8
See reviews for
105
106
25
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woolmer Green Stevenage
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The TomTom GPS sat nav was not that helpful once we got close to the hotel - however the building can be clearly seen and one can work out the route to the front. It was bucketing down with rain when we arrived. There is nothing to say that the hotel entrance is under that huge entrance canopy - and confusingly there is a big sign advertising a restaurant. We kept driving and eventually found a parking place near to the back - hoping for an alternative entrance - if there was one then I did not spot it and was rather bedraggled by the time that I reached the 'real' entrance.

I had reserved an Executive room: one checks in at the ground floor reception area. The best plan is to check in and then drive to the underground car parking at the back of the hotel. This gives one a very short walk to the lift that goes to all floors. However, one needs to have a room key first to operate the lift! The room was large, spacious and comfortable. The executive lounge had a very welcoming host to sort out drinks etc. The lounge had the usual range of quality complementary nibbles and non alcoholic drinks (the price of the alcoholic drinks was very reasonable). There is also a modest breakfast offered, but one can (at extra cost) go to the main breakfast area downstairs.

Unfortunately we had a major issue during our stay. There was a convention (PACMAC) or something similar and we had the great misfortune of being in a room opposite to someone inviting all their friends round for drinks, with their door either wide open or being slammed shut. We opened our door and saw them with their PACMAC delegate badges and we politely (but unsuccesfully) asked them to quieten down. Eventually we complained to reception at 1am. The noise did not finish until gone 2am. This was not the hotel's fault as apparently they came up 4 times and eventually called out the Police, by which time things had gone quiet. What was surprisng is that the convention was for school teachers/ educationalists - if these are the sort of people teaching Richmond pupils, then I don't think that they set a very good example for them!

We mentioned this problem at check out. The check out person was aware of the issue and apologised. He was rather embarrassed as he said that this is the best hotel in the area and this is not the sort of thing that normally happens. We were awarded some Hilton Honours points as compensation, but we would have much preferred a better night's sleep!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Halibut51,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to our area. I am glad you found us and enjoyed the amenities we have to offer. I do, however, apologize for any inconvenience caused due to noisy next door neighbors. The Hilton Short pump is known for its impeccable service and handy Staff who are always at your service. Rest assured, we are always reviewing our procedures to improve the overall experience of our future guests and we greatly appreciate your candor. If you would like to discuss your visit further please feel free to contact the hotel and ask for me personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

A quiet and comfortable hotel.the room I stayed in was clean and fresh, the view from the 5th floor was calming.
The staff were all very pleasant and helpful, some especially at the desk can smile a little more, but overall there were professional and pleasant.I would definitely return.
Another positive, Kings Dominion is literally around the corner from this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Arlette T,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I appreciate your positive notes about the hotel’s location, cleanliness and friendly staff. The Team at Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa works extremely hard to maintain our 4-Star 4-Diamond status. I will most definitely share your recognition with our team. Come back soon and often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

As a frequent business traveler, this is a solid hotel in a convenient location. The shuttle service and executive lounge are each nice options to have available. The staff at the front desk are all very helpful and courteous, and deserve a round of applause - most recently, Britney stood out by helping me with extra amenities, retrieving stuff I'd lost, and recommending places around town to check out, so thanks! The bar is a nice place for socializing, and usually pretty active. Occasionally there are a few technical glitches, like the internet cutting out for a bit or the sink sometimes only having settings for ice cold and lava, but overall definitely a good experience!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Thomas B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your appreciation of all that the hotel has to offer. Our Staff and Location are certainly two key features of the hotel that most of our guests appreciate. Thank you for your shout out to Brittany. She is definitely one of our Service Champions that we are proud to have in our Team. We hope that you will continue to make Hilton your home in Richmond and wherever your travels should take you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I've stayed here a few times on business. Nice hotel, convenient location. Not a huge fan of the parking garage but I can usually get a spot outside. Staff has always been friendly. Lobby area is nice.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear 980le,

Thank you very much for the compliment you have given us as it related to our superb location and upbeat Staff. We have wonderful hotels throughout the world so we are humbled by your sentiment. Thank you so very much and we will happily share your note with our entire team. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

For the price, a good hotel, rating high in cleanliness, quiet/restful, comfort, and convenience. Small detractors were very dim lighting in bathroom, lack of attention to replacing towels and tissues.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share insights and comments from your recent stay at the Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa. We strive for excellence in all aspects of the hospitality that we provide. Although you enjoyed your stay, I am very sorry to learn that your experiences did not add up to a perfect ‘5’.

Rest assured, I will be reviewing your concerns with our entire team and be certain that they are addressed to improve the overall experiences of our future guests. Thank you for sharing them with us.

Meanwhile, feel free to contact the hotel directly and ask for me personally if you would like to discuss your visit further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

The hotel was very clean, beautiful and spacious inside and the staff members were all very, very friendly. We had lunch in the bar area, breakfast in the main restaurant and cocktails. You can walk across a small connecting bridge right outside of the hotel to an excellent Mexican Restaurant with delicious margaritas. We were traveling with a 14 month old toddler and everyone treated him like a little king. Shopped at the nearby mall (within walking distance) and very convenient (approximately 20 minutes) to the Richmond Convention Center. Returned back to a very clean and comfortable bed. Housekeeping also very accommodating and would clean our room "off schedule" in order to not disturb the baby's nap schedule. All around a wonderful stay and everyone in this hotel seemed to be in a good mood all of the time--definitely recommend staying here! Wish we had time for the spa treatments (we didn't) but the spa looks equally enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Rflorez3,

Thank you for taking time to share insights and comments from your recent stay at the Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa. We feel honored to receive compliments from discerning travelers such as you. We very much appreciate your glowing ratings for the facilities and fantastic location of our hotel. Our goal has and always will be to provide our guests with a relaxing and memorable stay. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump

Address: 12042 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Richmond
#1 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#2 Family Hotel in Richmond
#2 Business Hotel in Richmond
#3 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa/Short Pump is an upscale hotel nestled in the heart of the prominent Short Pump area of Richmond. The hotel features 254 rooms & suites and 23,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space. With Aura Spa and Salon and Shula's America's Steak House, guests are treated to the best options in Richmond. Each of our 254 guestrooms and suites are tastefully appointed to accommodate travelers looking for comfort and functionality. From spacious workspaces with ergonomic chairs to the 42-inch high definition televisions to the Hilton Serenity Bed Package(R), guests will find a comfortable home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Richmond Hotel And Spa / Short Pump

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.