We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump

Save Saved
You added Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12042 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23233   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #2 of 82 hotels in Richmond
GreenLeadersSilver level
klelmore
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here many times and will always stay here when coming to Richmond. Love the executive floor and lounge. Love the Buffett. Love the service. Easy to check in and out. Great location. Never had a bad experience here very reliable.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    260
    84
    38
    13
    7
See reviews for
91
90
19
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 10 days for business trip in September. The hotel is very close to the Short Pump mall and is pretty easy to find just off West Broad st with easy access to the main highways. The welcome was very nice and professional and every day when you leave the hotel and return you get a very nice greeting.

The room itself was very nice, well furnished and decorated and very clean. The maid service was great and the daily room clean was great. The restaurant in the hotel was a bit expensive for that area. Great for steaks and so on but there are better options close by which were much cheaper. I only had the hotel breakfast one day and overall I would say it was good and pretty decent value for what you get.

The fitness facilities were ok, not a huge amount of equipment but to be honest it was pretty empty most of the time so it was never an issue. The pool was pretty small. It did have a spa there but I went in a couple of times and I never saw anybody there, so didn't get to try the service.

The one thing I absolutely loved about the hotel were the beds! One of the comfiest hotel beds I have ever stayed in and so it was a great place to stay for that reason.

So overall a good hotel in a convenient location.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed one night recently at this hotel. Nice place, friendly staff upon arrival. Booked into room 703 and upon entering the room was overwhelmed with the stench of old cigarette smoke. Disgusting. It permeated everything in the room and was simply overbearing.

I went to the front desk to ask for a room change, they didn't comply due to being "full." Not sure how truthful that was, not a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 701-703 (and I believe similarly numbered room on different floors [#01-#03]) if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonRichmond, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. We apologize for the inconvenient smell during your stay and we are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services and amenities you deserve. Because travel is very important, we try hard to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Best regards,

Devin Heath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here overnight in August during a business trip. Check-in was fast and the staff was very customer service focused. The room was spotless with a nice chair/ottoman, large flat screen TV, and a king size extremely comfortable bed. The manager even called to make sure all was ok and to see if I needed a wakeup call. The most amazing part was the wakeup call actually occurred which is extremely rare. Breakfast in the restaurant the next morning was also outstanding! Great stay and will definitely be back for my next stay in Richmond.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I was excited to stay at this well-reviewed hotel, and was even ready to pony up the $50 pet fee without complaint, but ended up being a little disappointed. I think this is the first really critical feedback I have given.
We showed up late on a Friday, checked in, and then went to the bar. A bunch of wedding guests were there, and the bar tender was a little... distracted. We were happy to learn that yes, the kitchen was still open; when we ordered 10 minutes later, the kitchen was apparently closed. No worries. We went to upstairs to order room service. The late-night pickings are slim, but we were ok with two $11 BLTs. The lady only brought one so I explained mix up. She brought me another ice-cold BLT pretty quickly, but the second $3 "delivery fee" did chap my cheeks.
I found a necklace and some pill wrappings in the bathroom.
The "Starbucks experience" means a wait in line if you would just like a granola bar.
Overall, the facility looked nice, had a large enough pool, a well-planned bathroom, and had a weight room with good cardio machines. The beds are comfortable and I found that the room was quiet and that the curtains made the room quite dark.
Honestly, I will probably stay here again because they take dogs, and it is close to some relatives. My advice for now, though, consider eating/drinking at some of the nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonRichmond, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for the challenges you had with the late night order. I will certainly use your feedback as a training tool for my team to ensure that all of our guests receive outstanding service.

Please feel free to reach out to me directly to discuss your stay more thoroughly as I take all feedback very seriously.

Best regards,

Devin Heath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Great experiences here in good old SP. New hotel, new shopping area just next door, and this facility is right there.

Shula's is fantastic and you get what you pay for, so to speak, then the spa was very nice, clean, had a deep tissue 1-1/2 hour massage. First Class operation all around.
The facilities are all brand new, the parking is super-convenient, and the rooms and meeting space were all top-notch.
Would stay there as much as possible if given a choice.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonRichmond, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Wow! What a great compliment! Thank you so much for your kind words and praise about our hotel. We are very proud of the service that we provide and hearing your feedback is very appreciated. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Best regards,

Devin Heath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night. While we didn't travel far to get there we were a hot, cranky couple by the time we checked in. Check in was pleasant enough but when we went to the coffee shop (I was a little surprised that there wasn't complimentary coffee in the lobby like in other Hilton Hotels) to get a coffee and some asprin the girl at the register had a hard time operating the register and couldn't figure out how to charge our room for our items and I think somethings got lost in translation as her English was not the greatest. Then we got into the elevator and couldn't figure out why we weren't going anywhere. My husband and I are smart people really, but wasn't ready or looking for an "insert key here slot" and had to learn the hard way that you must insert a key for each floor you wish to access (hopefully your party is all on the same floor.) While from a security aspect makes sense but from the perspective of the hot, cranky and desperately in need of a cooling shower not so much.

Once we got into our room we were pleased. It was gorgeous. The bed was so comfortable and the everything was nice and clean. The glass doors on the shower were nice but I almost felt like they made the bathroom too crowded. The turn down service is a nice touch but they only turn the comforter down not the top sheet. Bring your own pillow though because the ones they have are half the size of a regular pillow and you wake up w/ a crick in your neck the next morning. (Why don't hotels have real pillows anymore???)

We went out for the evening and when we came back the front parking lot was full which was to be expected since it was pretty late when we came back but as we were rounding the side of the hotel we discovered the parking garage. Since only 2 other cars had found it we had a pretty good spot close to the elevator (which by now we knew to use or keycard to get to our floor.)

Don't waste your time w/ the in-room coffee makers. such a pain and the paltry amount of sugars and creamers won't be enough if both of you use them. The breakfast buffet was slightly better than ok. The omelet was AMAZING and the woman who made it was very nice and friendly. I would love the recipe for the french toast it was yummy too but after that it went downhill quick. The sausage/bacon and potatoes were cold and I was glad that they had the omelets because not everyone likes eggs w/ cheese (why cant they add the cheese on to hot eggs instead of assuming everyone likes cheese???) I couldn't find any bowls for my fruit so I had to pile it on my plate w/ everything else.

So really I would give this hotel a 3 and 3/4 but I didn't have that option so I rounded up.

Room Tip: The higher up, as always the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonRichmond, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We appreciate all of the perspectives our guests have regarding their experiences and will certainly use your feedback to help improve the experience for future guests.

Best regards,

Devin Heath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump

Address: 12042 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Richmond
#1 Family Hotel in Richmond
#1 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#3 Business Hotel in Richmond
#4 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa/Short Pump is an upscale hotel nestled in the heart of the prominent Short Pump area of Richmond. The hotel features 254 rooms & suites and 23,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space. With Aura Spa and Salon and Shula's America's Steak House, guests are treated to the best options in Richmond. Each of our 254 guestrooms and suites are tastefully appointed to accommodate travelers looking for comfort and functionality. From spacious workspaces with ergonomic chairs to the 42-inch high definition televisions to the Hilton Serenity Bed Package(R), guests will find a comfortable home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Richmond Hotel And Spa / Short Pump

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.