We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, but had to ask for housekeeping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump to your Saves list
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12042 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23233   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #2 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great stay, but had to ask for housekeeping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed for two nights at this new and well appointed hotel. THe staff was very friendly, the room was clean and the bathroom was great. I have no complaints other than this- we left at 9:30am to wander around Richmond, and returned at 5:00 to a room that had not been cleaned. When we left for dinner an hour later I called down to the front desk to ask that the room be attended to while we were out. We returned around 1:00am and the room had kind of been cleaned. The bed had been made and the towels picked up but glasses from the bar we had brought up the night before were still on the nightstand, and the surfaces had not been wiped down. No big deal, it just seemed odd in a four star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonRichmond, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
I am enthused to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay but certainly apologize for the fact you had to request Housekeeping service. I have reviewed your feedback with our staff to ensure that we do not have any additional occurrences like this.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you in the future.

Best regards,

Devin Heath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    104
    40
    16
    8
See reviews for
105
106
25
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

STAY AWAY from this hotel at all cost!!! They put me up on a dump room on the 3rd floor & in less than 2 hrs, I had a respiratory infection. Then moved me to another room on the 7th flr - smoking room & very stinky!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonRichmond, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay. I'm very sorry to hear about your experience. We pride ourselves on having clean and comfortable rooms and if we did not provide that for you during your stay, on behalf of our entire team, I am very sorry. I hope to have an opportunity to host you in the future and show you that what you experienced is not the norm.

Thank you again and best regards,

Devin Heath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights on Business. I've arrived after a very stressfull day. The staff greated me with discount coupons for Short Pump mall and their Spa (nice way to please a woman, LOL). The shower was great and their line of bath products is good too I rarely use those hygiene supplies in hotels but felt tempted to try their massage bar soap and loved it. If my room had a bathtube I probably would never have left, LOL. My king bed was amazing! So was the jazz music channel that greated me when I arrived the room. Such a relaxing and quiet atmosphere. I'd go back either on Business or Pleasure. Just be aware the hotel town is Glen Allen not Richmond. It will save you some GPS trouble, ;)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth Junction, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

What a nice hotel. The hotel staff is great. As soon as we walked into the lobby we were greeted by three different staff members. Very contemporary decor. Rooms are very clean and well kept. The food at Shula is very good but the area also has a lot to offer. The hotel is next to the Short Pump shopping center with great stores and restaurants. Also close to the children’s museum. The hotel was very reasonable and I would return in a minute!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Beautiful hotel. Made a day trip to Richmond and there was so much to see and do there, we decided to spend the night so we could do some more shopping and sightseeing the next day. Front desk folks were friendly and helpful. Room was gorgeous. Temperature was great as soon as we hit the room -- didn't have to wait for air to crank up. Very quiet hotel -- and we stayed on a weekend. Bed was extremely comfy. So comfy in fact, that we slept past the breakfast buffet! Noon checkout is a nice feature. They have all the amenities, pool, exercise room, spa, restaurant, wireless hookup in your room. There's great shopping nearby and lots of restaurants. Not to mention the great Virginia Fine Art Museum, pretty houses on Monument Drive, Careytown, Science Museum, Children's Museum, etc. My husband and I liked the area and the hotel so well, we will make it a regular place to visit. Didn't use the spa this go-around, but will give ourselves some more time to pamper ourselves next time.

Room Tip: Get a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

This Hilton is located outside of downtown richmond in typical urban sprawl - would not ordinarily book this type of hotel but attended wedding close by so this was the most convenient - What a NICE hotel - Can's say enough about very personal service - although it appears to be geared for business traveler - very clean, contemporary decor, location, etc - the staff could not have been warmer - always smiling, and willing to go out of way to make stay as comfortable as possible -
things of note...they handled our ground transportation with convenient and complimentary shuttle - delicious and reasonably priced food in Shula restaurant right off lobby - (excellent hamburger, salad, and crab cake) nice pool with hot tub and adjacent outside terrace - very large rooms (on concierge floor) with comfortable bedding - and all amenities one would expect - security a high priority as card key required to activate - overall a lovely hotel at a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Came down for Nascar race. It was a very busy weekend with Nascar and Golf Senior Open as well as a wedding. Staff was very accomadating. Rooms were well appointed and quiet.
Don Shula restauarnt and bar was expensive but very good. Service throughout was very pleasant. Only disappointment was that while it is listed as spa there is no common area for sauna steam etc. Everything was a service by appointment and with very busy weekend appointments were tough to book, So plan ahead.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump

Address: 12042 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#1 Green Hotel in Richmond
#2 Business Hotel in Richmond
#2 Family Hotel in Richmond
#3 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa/Short Pump is an upscale hotel nestled in the heart of the prominent Short Pump area of Richmond. The hotel features 254 rooms & suites and 23,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space. With Aura Spa and Salon and Shula's America's Steak House, guests are treated to the best options in Richmond. Each of our 254 guestrooms and suites are tastefully appointed to accommodate travelers looking for comfort and functionality. From spacious workspaces with ergonomic chairs to the 42-inch high definition televisions to the Hilton Serenity Bed Package(R), guests will find a comfortable home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Richmond Hotel And Spa / Short Pump

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.