We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to i-95” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Richmond South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Richmond South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Richmond South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4300 Commerce Road, Richmond, VA 23234   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Augusta, Georgia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Close to i-95”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Comfortable beds, clean rooms. The breakfast this morning was almost non-existent. The pantry area was messy and the woman serving seemed frazzled. She told me the food order would be in tomorrow. Overall, not up to Hampton Inn's usual standards.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time share your experience on tripadvisor. You feedback is extremely important to us and makes us strive to do better.
Please be assured we are very consistent and follow Hampton standards for breakfast. Breakfast is one of our favorite unique selling feature and enjoyed by our guests. I apologise that this was not potrayed to you during this visit. The breakfast host has been retrained to follow the expectations. Thank you for staying with us again!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    57
    24
    8
    9
See reviews for
67
44
19
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cushing, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

My family and i were traveling through on our way back from Florida, I found this hotel on the website and booked the room for 2 adults and 3 kids. When we checked in we were told the room was to small and adding the third child would be a violation of the fire code. Thomas was very unfriendly and unprofessional in his appearance and attitude. This will be the last time I stay at any Hampton Inn properties.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on trip advisor. Please be advised that it is our goal to meet the expecatations of each and every guest that stays at the property and I want to apologise to you for not taking care of you. When we travel with family we want to have that comfort level established in every step. I am extremely sorry that we were not able to provide a rollway bed to you as it was against the fire code and next time you visit the area again I will be glad to take care of your stay.
Your feedback is extremely important to us and makes us strive to do better. I have addressed the issue with the front desk team member as the room is not small however since it already has two queen beds in it we are unable to fit a rollway bed inside it as it is against the fire regulations. We would be happy to accomodate you in an additional room with a discounted price for future. Please feel free to contact us for future needs. Thank you for staying with us again!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Every staff member of this hotel, right up to the general manager, made us feel welcome and comfortable during our 24-hour stay. Even despite a packed house, the staff arranged for an early check-in AND a late departure the next day (when our travel plans changed). Just a great experience all the way around...we'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed a pleasant experience with us. The staff appreciates your kind gesture and it gives us utmost pleasure to help our guests have a comfortable stay. Please do come back and see us again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We picked this hotel because it offered a promotional discount for families attending the VCU Open House. My son and I were thrilled with all the amenities included. Every single staff member was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The complimentary breakfast was awesome as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, where so many travelers visit to find out more about potential hotel choices. We are glad that you enjoyed a pleasant experience with us and found the location convenient for your needs. Please do come back and visit us again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

If you're traveling on 95 and need a convenient place to stop, this is it. The rooms are acceptable, but of course you hear the highway. Richmond, if you haven't been there, is a pleasant city to visit with some interesting history.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, where so many travelers visit to find out more about potential hotel choices. We are glad that you enjoyed a pleasant experience with us and found the location convenient for your needs.Hope that you will return to our hotel again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

My stay was very pleasurable. The staff was helpful, friendly and courteous. My bed was comfy and the room was very clean and modern. I am very picky about bathrooms and these bathrooms were extremely clean and also modern. The food was your average complimentary food and the coffee was great. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for the review on tripadvisor about your recent experience at the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the service and breakfast layout at the hotel. Please do come back and visit us again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The Hampton staff at the Richmond, VA location is very pleasant and helpful. They made sure that my stay was to my satisfaction. I would stay here again and I would recommend this hotel to friends and business associates

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor!!!
We are glad that you enjoyed a pleasant experience with us, and hope that you will return to our hotel again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Richmond South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Richmond South

Address: 4300 Commerce Road, Richmond, VA 23234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#13 Family Hotel in Richmond
#17 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Richmond South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Richmond South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Richmond South Hotel Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Richmond South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.