We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop along I-95” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Richmond South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Richmond South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Richmond South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4300 Commerce Road, Richmond, VA 23234   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great stop along I-95”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Convenient stop on I 95, clean rooms, friendly staff, small indoor pool but nice, breakfast buffet offers Hot and cold selections, easy parking, easy on and off 95, McDonalds and gas station right across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing I 95 if you think highway noise will keep you awake
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for your opinion on the site and we appreciate your kind gesture. We are so glad to know the location suits your needs and makes it easier for travel. Please do come back and se us again!!
Regards,
Sangeeta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    57
    24
    8
    9
See reviews for
67
44
19
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gray, GA, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

My stay at the Hampton - Richmond South hotel was a great experience. I have traveled to Richmond on Business many times and have found this hotel the very one to meet my traveling needs. The staff is very pleasant and professional, meeting my every expectation. The accommodations are well cared for and readily supported by their maintenance staff. I love the morning breakfast bar, with fresh fruits, pastries and hot bar of meats, eggs and potatoes. A great start to any business day. Try it ... you will like it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your opinion about your recent stay!! It is indeed our pleasure to provide you with excellent service every time you are in town. Wishing you a very Happy and prosperous New Year!! See you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Staff not trained properly and the bathroom was not clean. Very noisy from the Highway. The hotel other than that was OK. The location was not the best. The breakfast bar had not been maintained properly .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Howard,
I appreciate your concerns and feedback about your recent experience at the hotel. I am extremely sorry that you could not enjoy your stay. All the issues have been addressed with the staff and I want you to know your feedback is very important to us.
Please give us another opportunity if you are travelling in the area and I promise to make it up to you. I have gone ahead and comped your stay for all the inconveniences. Have a wonderful holiday season ahead!!
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shohola, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

On our way back home from Florida we stopped at this Hampton Inn it was right off of I95. It was clean with a great staff. They were polite and very helpful. The complementary breakfast had a good variety was good.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, where so many travelers visit to find out more about potential hotel choices. We are glad that you enjoyed a pleasant experience with us, and hope that you will return to our hotel again!!!
Have a great holiday season ahead!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The Hampton Richmond South was a very enjoyable stay for us during our 800 mile drive. From the moment we arrived we felt welcome. The rooms and service were excellent and the free breakfast buffet was a great bonus. We will definitely stay at this location again when in the Richmond area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, where so many travelers visit to find out more about potential hotel choices. We are glad that you enjoyed a pleasant experience with us. Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us and we will see you again soon!!
Have a great holiday season ahead!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zebulon, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This hampton was very clean and good location close couple fast foods but if you a light sleeper like
me this is not the place for you. This place is right on I 95 road very loud even air on high.
So if u like to be near interstate and are not light sleeper this place is ok but the price was slightly higher than most hamptons that I have stay in.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your pleasant experience at our hotel, with others. This kind of feedback is so important to us, and helps travelers determine their hotel choices, before they travel. We apologize about the noise level from the traffic and hope that you will visit again soon. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

A very nice hotel. I stayed here while on business in Richmond and was pleased with the room and the service. The staff was very friendly, the breakfast was delicious, and the pool was refreshing. My only complaint (which is my fault for staying there) was that it is pretty far from downtown and the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, where so many travelers visit to find out more about potential hotel choices. We are glad that you enjoyed a pleasant experience with us, and hope that you will return to our hotel again!!
Once again thank you for sharing your comments with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Richmond South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Richmond South

Address: 4300 Commerce Road, Richmond, VA 23234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#13 Family Hotel in Richmond
#17 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Richmond South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Richmond South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Richmond South Hotel Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Richmond South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.