We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Richmond South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Richmond South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Richmond South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4300 Commerce Road, Richmond, VA 23234   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
ric
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I was a little apprehensive about booking in the Bells Rd. area. Not the best. However my husband had an appointment at the VA so it was the closest. What a pleasant surprise! Such a nice greeting from the gentleman at the front desk. Our room was very clean and nice. We awoke to a dusting of snow covering the grass...beautiful! We had breakfast the next morning in an open and spacious room, newly decorated. The lady attending was wonderful. She stayed busy the whole time I was down (close to an hour) and kept the room clean and prepped. If I had a complaint it would be that I was subjected to CNN for that hour. Thank goodness I had my own reading material.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMba, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hearing from a happy guest makes our day and you have shown with your kind words that my staff took good care of you and family during your recent stay.We love having you here and hope to host you again in the near future.


Clement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    57
    24
    8
    9
See reviews for
67
44
19
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Needham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel does not have any suites. Our room was terrible. The shower was full of mildew, The toilet paper holder was loose on the wall, and their remedy was to stuff toilet paper around it as a repair, the refrigerator was wobbly, the desk light didn't work and most disgusting, pillow cases were used, stained and dirty,

Room Tip: Don't come here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMba, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

My sincere apologies regarding your experiences during your recent stay.This is not who,we are and unfortunately,this experience may have left a very bad taste about us.The only way to correct this is by giving us another chance.I am very sorry and I hope you find a moment of your busy schedule to call me before you make another visit to our area.I will guarrantee you a 100% satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Friendly staff, beautiful room. Quiet and clean. Excellent internet service. Staff responds immediately. Workout room excellent. Clean, easy to get to from rt 95. Convenient parking with a restaurant immediately across the road. There is only so much you can say about something but this program demands 200 character minimum. so let me finish by saying I will try to choose Hampton Inn's for my hotel stay from now on. Praise the Lord and keep Him in your heart., Rev. Perry

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMba, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Happy New year and truly very glad to hear the kind words regarding your stay.We love having you here.


Clement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I originally had a reservation at the Candlewood Suites across the street, but it failed my standards of cleanliness. So I checked into the Hampton Inn across the street, all within in a hour and a half of arriving in VA. I was extremely pleased from the moment I walked in. The colors of purple and lime are very bright and welcoming, as well as the staff. This hotel has a very modern look, the cookies were delicious, and the breakfast was great. The rooms are large, clean, and they have direct tv. When Im in the area again, this will be my hotel of choice. There isn't anything around the hotel to eat, but thats not there fault.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMba, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
We are very pleased because you very comfortable and satisfied with your stay.We love having you here.


Clement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Very nice and new hotel. Full access to all Directv channels on a nice LCD TV. Very comfortable bed with lots of pillows. The room also has a fridge and microwave, so that was an extra bonus. I also liked the fact that it was a full shower and not a tub/shower.
The only downside is there is nothing around the hotel, so you have to drive 10-20 minutes to eat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMba, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Having you stay with us was all joy.We look forward to meeting you again.Join us in our morning breakfast when next you are in Richmond.


Clement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel's location is great for easy access to/from I95. It's also right next to Philip Morris hdq. We had a quiet room (not exterior sound and no sound from the in-room HVAC) with a good shower. Breakfast was great. However, the only non-fast food place to eat is across the street at a competing hotel and that restaurant is fair to midling.

Room Tip: Room 410 no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMba, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for the opportunity to serve you and your family and we love having you stay at our beautiful hotel.


Clement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I drive I-95 quite a bit and frequently stop for the night in Richmond, VA I stopped at this Hampton for the first time a week ago. It's very nice, very clean, friendly staff, comfy room, good internet all the things you need for a good nights rest on the go

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrinceMba, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We are truly honored to have you and your family stay with us.Please come.We love having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Richmond South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Richmond South

Address: 4300 Commerce Road, Richmond, VA 23234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#13 Family Hotel in Richmond
#17 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Richmond South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Richmond South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Richmond South Hotel Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Richmond South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.